Mac OS X Panther on PowerMac G3

Discussion in 'macOS' started by theforgotten, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. theforgotten macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #1
    Hi there!I'm new in Mac and couple days ago I bought my first Mac.It's PowerMac G3(Blue & White)350Mhz Processor,128 Ram and 6Gb Hdd.I tried to install Mac OS X and first time in "choose destination to install Mac OS X" the HDD was not listed.I opened Disc Utility and erased the disc and back to the installing the HDD show up but with red exclamation and it says that I can't install Mac OS X on that volume.Please help me.Help me how should I format the HDD and make it able to install Mac OS X Panther on it.I'm new to Mac but I know something.Thanks!
     
  2. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #2
    I think you have to partition the drive so there's an 8GB or smaller partition to install Panther.

    I could be wrong.
     
  3. theforgotten thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
  4. theforgotten thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #4
    I've fixed the problem!HDD jumper was set to cable select and I switched to Master and now everything is OK!
     
  5. kwfl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #5
    it is very nice, u are using a powerbook with 6GB HDD and 350MHz. that seems fantastic, seriously.

    i will see if i can find one of these old ones to see what it is like.
     

Share This Page