Mac OS X Public Beta software

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by AlbertEinstein, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. AlbertEinstein macrumors regular

    AlbertEinstein

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    #1
    Hello MacRumors!
    Today i found my old PowerBook G3 with OSX 10.0 "Kodiak" installed. As the PRAM is completely dead, it has managed to keep itself in pristine condition.

    So now i wondered; where can i find applications for the Public Beta? I know there wasn't much, but i happen to know that there was versions of Create, TIFFany and Fetch that worked on it.

    :apple:
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Mac OS X 10.0 is not the public beta. 10.0 can't really run anything at all. You can upgrade to to 10.1 for free via Apple.
     
  3. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    OS X 10.0 was called Cheetah. The public beta was called Kodiak.
     
  4. AlbertEinstein thread starter macrumors regular

    AlbertEinstein

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    #4
    As Said; The public beta reports itself as 10.0. There was software written for Kodiak. I happen to know that since i used TIFFany on My iMac G3 With Kodiak.
     
  5. DJLC macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #5
    Oh, wow... I remember Kodiak. Fun times.

    All I really remember getting for it was the Sproingees screensaver, though. Good luck in your hunt!
     
  6. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Wow, Kodiak. Keep a copy of that baby around. Currently I got everything from System 7 to Mountain Lion..
     
  7. AlbertEinstein thread starter macrumors regular

    AlbertEinstein

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    #7
    AppleWorks 6... which version worked on Kodiak? Just going trough my boxes of ancient software.
     
  8. CptSky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #8
    The Carbon API took time before being usable... It was first released in 2000, so, I doubt it will work on Kodiak. Maybe you can use some version of AppleWorks through the Classic Environment, but it's supposing that it was stable in Kodiak, which I doubt.
     
  9. Ariii macrumors 6502a

    Ariii

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    The Classic Environment was fairly stable in Kodiak, even though it had some issues.
     

Share This Page