Mac OS X RAM HOG?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by antdgar, Oct 9, 2007.

  1. antdgar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    #1
    I bought my macbook a few days ago.
    With nothing on the 'startup' OS X takes up 800MB RAM, out of 1GB.

    Is this normal? This is with just the normal system processes. 45 processes.

    If the touchpad had full functionality I'd be in Winxp :p

    With MSN, firefox and itunes open it takes up 900MB RAM. O_O Or is only "Active" important?
     
  2. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    Are you only looking at "Free" RAM? Because "Inactive" RAM is also free, in the Windows sense of RAM management.
     
  3. antdgar thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    Active + Wired will tell you exactly how much RAM the system is using. The rest is free.
     
  5. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #5
    But AFAIK its slower to access inactive RAM as it still happens to have content on it and will be replaced as opposed to just having content put on directly? Or am I wrong?
     
  6. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #6
    this is what inactive ram does

    say you open Firefox. It takes maybe 5 seconds the first time to load, and a second every other time. Firefox was loaded into the active memory on the first load. When it was closed, it was put into inactive. Inactive is basically free ram. If you open itunes and you have no free ram available, it might overwright the firefox inactive ram. But, say you open firefox again. Since its in inactive ram, it is already loaded into the ram so it can easily be switched into active ram..so it starts firefox faster.
     
  7. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #7
    What do you mean if the touchpad had full functionality?
     
  8. theman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #8
    Does the touchpad not have full functionality under VMware or boot camp?
     
  9. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #9
    Active and Wired are the important parts. What is your Active + Wired?

    900MB IS a lot of RAM taken up unless you're running heavy hitters like Photoshop, or bloatware like MS Office (which sadly, I must do on occasion for work stuff). On my MBP with 2GB of RAM, I'm running Firefox, Disk Utility and have a few active dashboard programs up right now. Active + Wired for me is 384.84MB. 62 processes, 211 threads, and I haven't really made an effort to streamline things.

    On my Mac Mini with 2GB of RAM: 53 processes, 182 threads. 603 MB in Active + Wired, running Safari and dashboard widgets. And it's been running without a restart for 7 days, 23:54 (it's a week and a half old), with me opening and closing various apps.

    What widgets are you running? They take up memory too, and one of them might be hogging things up.
     
  10. illicium macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #10
    Full Finctionality

    I think the comment about full touchpad functionality was talking about the fact that you can only right click by holding down the fn key and clicking, instead of being able to just right click like with an HP or Dell laptop.
     
  11. displaced macrumors 65816

    displaced

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Gravesend, United Kingdom
    #11
    Well, in OS X you can set a two-finger tap to be a 'right' click (well, 'secondary' click - same difference!). A two-finger tap's even better than a PC laptop's right button, IMHO.

    When dual-booting into XP using BootCamp, the trackpad driver is limited. Two-finger scrolling still works, but 'tap to click' and 'two-finger right click' do not work. To right-click in XP, you need to click the button whilst having 2 fingers on the trackpad. A bit awkward at times :) But BootCamp's still in beta, so I'm sure the final release in Leopard will give XP's trackpad support parity with that in OS X.
     

Share This Page