MAC OS X Server - Profile Management iOS Devices

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by registudio, Jan 2, 2017.

  1. registudio macrumors member

    registudio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #1
    Hi Guys,


    I installed a Mac Mini under Sierra OS X server 5.2 and I encountered a weird issue.
    Here it is; when I enrolled several iPhones (already having their own names such as iPhone 1, iPhone 2 etc...), everything was OK (security certificates wise), however in Profile Management under Safari, they are all named "New Device" as you can see in the attached file - screenshots (either in Devices or Devices Group).

    I have tried with Apple Configurator 2, to rename them again and reinstall (enrollement again) them but same issue, I can't find any ways to have their proper and respective names displayed...

    Any ideas? Or suggestions would be very appreciated.

    Thanks & regards,
    Regis
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Geeky Chimp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #2
    When you do the enrolment, inside profile manager does a task show for the device? If so, does it complete or fail? It sounds very much like an APNS issue. An easy way to verify APNS connectivity is to download Push Diagnostics (free) from the MAS and run a test.
     
  3. registudio thread starter macrumors member

    registudio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #3
    Thank you for your reply.

    During the enrollment, iphone by iphone, everything went well, I mean security certificates acceptations from Server to iPhone and vice versa.

    I have noticed that the pushing by iPhone of apps, let's say, is not going through...

    Now you might be right as for now the server is deployed (as well as the iPhones) on an internaL network only. We didn't get yet the Enterprise Developer License.
     
  4. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    You don't need a Developer License, but a valid Apple ID for the self-assigned certificate to connect with the APNS.
     
  5. registudio thread starter macrumors member

    registudio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #5
    Thank you for your input.
    We have a valid Apple ID, but the issue is that the server in not connected to internet as it is deployed in a private secured network. That's why the Enterprise Developer License is required, in order to deploy in-house apps and managed the iPhones.
     
  6. Geeky Chimp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #6
    The Profile Manager server and the devices will need to be connected to the Internet in order to connect to APNS and therefore manage the devices and push settings/apps etc.
     
  7. registudio, Jan 9, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2017

    registudio thread starter macrumors member

    registudio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #7
    I would normally agree, but that's why we'll have the enterprise developer license as it is mentioned you don't need to pass by the App Store to deploy in-house Apps.
    https://developer.apple.com/programs/enterprise/

    It does not mentioned you need internet connection and more when I contacted Apple, the guy understood the requirements and then recommended this kind of license. We'll see how things are going on in a near future...

    Thank you for your input.
     
  8. Geeky Chimp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #8
    You won't need to get the App Approved by Apple so the guy was correct with that statement. You could then deploy the app using configurator. However Profile Manager WILL need an Internet Connection to deploy apps. If you have no internet access available you can use the Enterprise Developer license to create your own in house apps, then you'll need to deploy the apps to the devices by plugging the devices into a Mac running Configurator.
     
  9. registudio thread starter macrumors member

    registudio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #9

    OK well noted, thank you very much.
    Then, we'll have to find a solution to connect the server to internet...
     

Share This Page