Mac Os X Version 10.4.11 Not Reading Cd's/dvd's!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by electroboy, May 29, 2008.

1. electroboy macrumors newbie

Hello,

I wonder if you can help me out..

My drive is not recognising any blank cd/dvd when i put in computer.

Even a real cd or dvd is not getting any response either!

It has only started happening today! It's like the computer doesn't recognise it.

The computer just spits it out after a couple of seconds.

I've restarted and shut down but nothing seems to work.

Any ideas? I'm using Mac OS X Version 10.4.11

I've also reset the PRAM and nothing has changed.

I can't copy cd'S, dvd's, can't play cd's or dvd's because the computer doesn't seem to register them!

I've also clicked on "About This Mac" but the "More Info" button is shaded and won't let me click on it!

I'm a novice so any brilliant, amazing, simple advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. merl1n macrumors 65816

merl1n

Restart your computer in SAFE BOOT:

Then after you login, run Disk Utility, and repair permissions on your boot volume. The quit and restart.

If that doesn't work, let us know what type of mac you have. You may need to do a PMU/SMU/SMC reset on it.

3. Soulwar macrumors newbie

Soulwar

The "more info" button takes you to System Profiler. You can access it in the Utilities folder. (applications/utilities)
    See if it shows the optical drive from there.

Its possible that the optical drive is failing.

4. merl1n macrumors 65816

merl1n

I don't think his optical drive is failing since it is taken the disc in and spitting it out (unless the laser is shot).

I think he has some corrupted cache files which would produce this problem and the fact that he can't access the System Profiler from the Apple Menu -> About This Mac -> More info... button.

The Safe Boot should take care of most of the problems unless the optical drive is indeed failing.

5. electroboy thread starter macrumors newbie

Hello,