Mac OSX 10.4 text display error on menu's and applications

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Cabbit, May 26, 2007.

  1. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    Hi hi i have been having a odd error on my old G3 iMac running osx 10.4.9. The main menu displays A's inside squares instead of file edit,ect this also happens on the Macintosh HD and all other desktop icons and the hover over text on the icons. It affects some applications too but not all of them.

    I have tryed a permistion repair and restarting and changing the language the text is displayed in.
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Have you installed any haxies?
    When did this start (gradually/after a restart once/after an update) ?
     
  3. Cabbit thread starter macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    nothing new has been installed since the inishial install over 2 years ago when tiger first came out other than software updates 2 months ago. The problem just appeared only 3 days ago for no reason. My mum uses the computer in her bedroom as as music player it now no longer accepts her user name for login's i plan on preforming an archive install.
     
  4. VoidBoi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
  5. Cabbit thread starter macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    yip just like that, hover now the computer monitor no longer comes on at startup sugesting the some part of the computer has fried. It still however chimes.
     

Share This Page