Mac OSX Lion beta on Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by macbookman83, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. macbookman83 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Hey guys have any of you tried out the beta version of Lion?? I'm currently installing it on my Air onto a SD card. I'll post my results later when its actually installing along with my first impressions. I currently have the 13'' ultimate.

    What are your first impressions?
     
  2. epicshredder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    Boulder, Co
    #2
    No lion on my MBA, interested on your results!
     
  3. Applepi macrumors 6502a

    Applepi

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #3
    So far I love it. No major bugs that hinder me from everyday use however sometimes Safari can get a little sluggish on flash intensive sites. Can't wait for future builds :)
     
  4. hsl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    #4
    love it too,.. fullscreen is very nice for some apps,.. terminal/mail etc.
     
  5. Psilocybin macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  6. DJFriar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    #6
    Are you running OS X Lion off the SD Card? If so, that makes me kinda wish I'd sprung for the 13" rather than the 11".

    I'm hoping I can install it via USB Flash drive to my 11" Air tonight, I can't think of a reason it wouldn't work. Did you have any hiccups during install?
     
  7. macbookman83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Install is taking slightly longer than expected. I'm assuming it's due to the fact my SD is a class 4 which is slower than say a class 10. I burned a copy using my external DVD burner. Will def post my results after installing.

    If I like what I see, I'll do a time machine backup and install on the actual HD.
     
  8. aldejesus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    PR
    #8
    I installed directly into my HD, just a few minor bugs, specially compatibility issues. LastPass Safari plugin isn't working, flash plugins freeze a little specially on intensive flash web pages. But I still like it.

    The MBA is my first mac and i did a lot of app testing prior to Lion add, so this morning i backup my essential data and format HD and did a fresh install of snow leopard, then Lion and finally restore my backup. After all this, Lion is running smoothly and safari is not giving me anymore freezes. Still Lasstpass not working do to compatibility issues with Safari Version 5.1 (7534.20.8)

    Ps. The new multitouch gestures available on the Magic Mouse & Lion are easier.
     
  9. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    Developer Previews should never be used as a main OS. But yes, it's relatively stable.
     
  10. macbookman83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Update- do not install on an SD the read/write rates are terrible. Almost took two hours to install and runs slow. I will perform a time machine backup and install on my HD.
     
  11. iDisk macrumors 6502a

    iDisk

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Menlo Park, CA
    #11
    He's a n00b

    How can anybody take this guy serious when His signature has a product that's not even released and he's posing as though he has a white iphone 4 32gb.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Psilocybin macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #12
    Haha this is a general rule of thumb obviously. I wasnt asking if I should or not. I was asking if it's stable enough

    I'll just run it on my MacBook
     
  13. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #13
    Eh?

    There is a 13" 2.13GHz MacBook Air with 4GB of RAM and it's very easy to have a white iPhone 4.

    Not an official white iPhone 4 but a black iPhone 4 that's been turned into a white one.
     
  14. torbjoern macrumors 65816

    torbjoern

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    The Black Lodge
    #14
    Which product isn't even released? The 13" MBA 2.13 / 4 GB ? In that case, I have been cheated!

    As for the iPhone 4, any black device can be made white.
     
  15. macbookman83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #15
    no friends????

    What does my signature have to do with anything???????

    It's friday night bro, maybe you need to get out.

    You seem uptight.
     
  16. monaarts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #16
    Lion on my 13" MBA Ultimate is AMAZING!!!!


    - Joe
     
  17. Psilocybin macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #17
    Did you get rid of snow?
     
  18. DarwinOSX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #18
    Naw its fine.
     
  19. ccsicecoke macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #19
    Memory usage easily go over 2GB without opening any application
     
  20. monaarts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #20
    Nope.... I have it on a second partition. But I don't know that I will actually use SL after this again! seriously!


    - Joe
     
  21. iDisk, Feb 26, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 27, 2011

    iDisk macrumors 6502a

    iDisk

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Menlo Park, CA
    #21
    Forgot about the the black market posers who were trying to pass off black iPhone 4's for white ones...... I have a "ultimate" Air as well.

    It's all about trust in the forums and in the developer community. LIKE my post said "How can we take you seriously, since your saying you have a white iPhone 4" , As you read my post above, I forgot that you could just have purchased on of those fake kits so you can act like you have one.

    Me "getting out" has nothing to do with this, nor me having "friends" have anything to do with this.

    Again in the developer community it's all about trust.
     
  22. Psilocybin macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #22
    What are your temps like? People are complaining because of the higher CPU temps and fans running on lion
     
  23. gdeputy macrumors 6502a

    gdeputy

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #23
    dude, if you put a white iphone back and front on the black iPhone, it IS a white iPhone, regardless of what you may think.
     
  24. MacRuler macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #24
    i am using 10.7 on my macbook air 1.4 ghz 2 gb ram.. on a 17 gb partition. and it is running really well! it's faster than snow leopard and is funner to use (full screen apps). but it is using more ram.(with mail itunes and safari open) i only have 400 mb free... which i assume will improve with the final release. but overall i have seen that the start up times are about 5 seconds faster. the battery time is about the same. the heat is about the same. and the overall usage is faster and just slicker. its really nice. i probably won't be using snow leopard. and will probably get rid of snow leopard once the final release comes out for sale.
     
  25. aberrero macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    #25
    Lion gobbles up ram like crazy. I'm starting to see the limits of 2GB. It is buggy, but not unstable.

    Battery life estimate, at least for now, is about 2:30. That's pretty terrible compared to SL, but I think it will get better once it has time to "break in".

    Trim is working, by the way, and despite having to use swap, it is still really fast.
     

Share This Page