mac osx on old clamshell

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by budaapple, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. budaapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Ill.
    #1
    I'm trying to load osx 10.3 on old clamshell. When it starts to load and the white apple logo pops up it you can hear the drive spinning and it just stops and I get white lines across the center of the screen. The discs I'm using are store bought so I know they are good.
    HELP PLEASE!
     
  2. devburke Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #2
    What exactly do you mean by "old clamshell"? Does it meet the required specs for whichever version of OS X you're trying to install?

    This is for Leopard from Apple.com:

    Picture 1.png
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Yes, the first clamshells can run 10.3 and the FireWire clamshells can run Tiger.
     
  4. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #4
    The clamshell iBook, http://www.apple-history.com/body.p...k&section=h1&sort=date&performa=off&order=ASC

    I would make sure that you update the firmware to the newest version and do a wipe and install. Might also reset everything like the PRAM and such. I would start out by using a paper clip and pressing the reset button above the power button.
     
  5. budaapple thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Ill.
    #5
    how to reset

    How do you reset pram I forget and also how do you check for firmware updates
    thanks
     

Share This Page