Mac OSX Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by pim16aap2, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. pim16aap2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #1
    hello,

    is it possible to define the amount cores an application uses?
    the game minecraft uses all my cores since a new update and when it used 1 core everything was fine, i could play the game, browse on the internet, talk on skype. now minecraft uses my whole cpu and i can't do anything besides it.

    i start the game with a start.command file, maybe that makes it easier?

    thanks in advance,
    Pim
     
  2. maflynn, Oct 29, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011

    maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    You can disable a given core with the apple's Xcode software, but you cannot (to my knowledge) adjust the number of cores an application can use. If the application is written in a multithreaded manner or set up to take advantage of Snow Leopard's Grand Central Dispatch, you have no say in this.
     
  3. pim16aap2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011

Share This Page