mac ox x 10.6.2 causes flash to crash

Discussion in 'macOS' started by blackrock4953, Nov 10, 2009.

1. blackrock4953 macrumors newbie

Nov 10, 2009
    is anyone else having this problem? i updated to 10.6.2 yesterday and now my Flash doesn't work. i can run .swf, but i can't run .fla files. it'll crash my computer every time.

i'm a designer and i have adobe design premium and all the softwares are up to date.

can someone help me out? i've been on hold with adobe support for an hour.
  2. itou macrumors regular

Jan 16, 2008
  3. xgman macrumors 601

Aug 6, 2007
    In cases like this i find that a complete uninstall of the program itself (adobe) and reinstall including any pref files may just rest things properly.
  4. stevelgr macrumors newbie

Nov 12, 2009
    I'm having the same problem. Has anyone come up with a fix or workaround?
  5. kivcreative macrumors newbie

Nov 16, 2009
    Chicago NW suburbs
    Unsuccessful solutions

I had the same problem immediately after upgrading to 10.6.2.

I can open my Flash CS4 (v. app, but when I try to open any .fla it crashes after about 2 seconds.
    Flash was giving me no problems with Mac OS X v. 10.6.1.

None of these attempts to fix the problem worked:

First, I dumped my Flash preference files and restarted the app.
    Then, I restarted in single user mode and ran /sbin/fsck -fy which found no problems.
    Then I uninstalled and reinstalled Flash CS4 (three times).
    Then I upgraded Flash 10.0 back up to v. 10.0.2
    Then I ran the 10.6.2 update (combo) based on a posting I saw on the Apple support forum.

My next step is to reinstall Snow Leopard. Cross your fingers for me.

Does anyone have any other ideas?
  6. stevelgr macrumors newbie

Nov 12, 2009
    kiv - I created a new account on my machine and I"m not having any problems running Flash under that account. Eventually I will take on the task of reinstalling CS4 and the OS.
  7. kivcreative macrumors newbie

Nov 16, 2009
    Chicago NW suburbs