Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Togglehead

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 16, 2006
Jersey
Hey guys....im fairly new to mac, after a 12 year break from it, i think its about time to get back into it.

I dug my performa 200 out of storage recently, and the bad boy worked FINE when it was put into storage (almost 8 years ago) but i am NOT suprised that something doesnt work now....lol

Go easy on me....im a doofus with macs....thats why im here. ;)

Anyway so i powered it on, and i get nothing but a B&W checkered screen. I know it has those two buttons on the side of it....one is a command button....one does something else....something bad i remember.....neither of them do anything with the checkered screen.....

Where should i start?

macEfan

macrumors 65816
Apr 7, 2005
that has happened to my Classic II before. I usually turn it on, then filip the switch back to off after the checkers apear on the screen. Then, after about 1 second, i turn the computer back on. I hear that this problem is related to the motherboard, does yours have any leaking capictors or anything?

Togglehead

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 16, 2006
Jersey
macEfan said:
that has happened to my Classic II before. I usually turn it on, then filip the switch back to off after the checkers apear on the screen. Then, after about 1 second, i turn the computer back on. I hear that this problem is related to the motherboard, does yours have any leaking capictors or anything?

ooo boy i dunno....its been moved around a lot so a myriad things could be wrong....i'll check that out, see if i can see any at a glance....

*digs out soldering iron* lets see if my smokers hands are still steady enough....lol

dpaanlka

macrumors 601
Nov 16, 2004
Illinois
Isn't this the machine with a system folder built into ROM, accesable (spelling?) by hitting command + option + x + o or something like that on startup?

Togglehead