MAC Port and Darwin port

Discussion in 'macOS' started by saintkabir, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. saintkabir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #1
    Hi! I am new bie with Mac! I am trying to install mac port on my mac 10.5.6.
    But latest available port that is 1.7.1 is not working on my system. It says it can only be install on 10.5. I dont know what to do.

    Actually i am trying to install macport becoz i want to install few software with its help like xfig. Any help from Mac pals will be appreciated.

    Thanks

    Kabir
     
  2. mooglesoft macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #2
    Try grabbing the newest version of MacPorts from SVN.

    In Terminal, type:
    Code:
    svn co http://svn.macports.org/repository/macports/trunk/base/
    cd base
    ./configure
    make
    sudo make install
    sudo /opt/local/bin/port -v selfupdate
    Remember to add /opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin to your PATH.
     
  3. saintkabir thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #3
    Thanks for reply!

    checking whether tclsh was compiled with threads... no
    configure: error: tcl wasn't compiled with threads enabled


    I am getting error on last two lines when i use ./configure ....I am unable to figure out what this means

    Kabir
     
  4. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    Do you have the Developer tools installed? You won't be able to compile anything otherwise.

    Go to http://developer.apple.com/mac/ to sign up for a free account and download XCode 3
     
  5. saintkabir thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #5
    well X code 3.1 is already installed on my Mac. The error which i am talking about is common i think, people had trouble shoot it with same change in ./profile but i dont know what change is it..........
     

Share This Page