Mac Pro 1,1 + 10.6.2 + 4 x 4gb owc ram = 8gb

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pipep, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. pipep macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #1
    I've just updated the os to 10.6.2 and my 16gb mac pro 1,1 only shows 8gb in the system profiler.

    The memory tab shows they're all working correctly but size says "2gb" where should be "4gb".

    I checked it up today because everything was really slow, but might be this way since 10.6, as last time i checked my ram was on 10.5.10.

    anyone else with this problem?
     
  2. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #2
    HUH?

    Ok, just to confirm..System Profiler shows all 8 riser slots, and it shows 4 of them empty, 4 of them populated with working 2GB DIMMs? Also, 10.5.10 isn't real, what did you mean? 10.5.8 was the last one.

    EDIT: Now that I think about, a screenshot of the memory section in System Profiler would be great.
     
  3. pipep thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #3
    ur right about 10.5.10... i meant the latest

    System Profiler show all 8 riser slots, 4 used, 4 empty. The used ones have 4gb owc sticks on them but they appeared to be 2gb, all working ok.

    I attached a screenshot.

    thanks.

    EDIT: I added a pic of 2 of the ram sticks... just in case
     

    Attached Files:

    • ram.jpg
      ram.jpg
      File size:
      336.1 KB
      Views:
      54
    • 01.jpg
      01.jpg
      File size:
      111.2 KB
      Views:
      65
  4. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    I got the same with Qimonda mems.

    I bought 2 sticks of 2 GB modules, and they showed as 2x1 GB and were normally working, but red LED was flashing red on memory card.

    I've returned them and got Micron chips which are working fine.
     
  5. pipep thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #5
    solved.

    So, after i took the pic above, i swap the risers and everything is back to normal mmm pretty weird though, as I almost never open the case, or move the tower...

    If this happens again I'll report.

    Thanks anyway.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 02.jpg
      02.jpg
      File size:
      136.8 KB
      Views:
      61
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    Happens with some OS upgrades, if Apple changes the way they recognize RAM.

    Call OWC and see what they say, their warranty should cover this.

    Especially since the memory has ceased to function as advertised.
     

Share This Page