Mac Pro 1.1 2 dead bays

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by danishpete, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. danishpete macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #1
    Help!

    Hi there,

    I got got a used Mac Pro 1,1 2.0Ghz Quad, but bay 2 and 3 seems to be dead, I have tried all the reset tricks, I have tried 4 different drives, 1 brand new, reinstalled Snow Leopard, I have checked the connectors on the logic board, they are all fine and so on, but they are still dead.

    What can I do!? please help.....
     
  2. akadmon macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Did you check if anything is showing up in Disk Utility? Perhaps the previous owner unmounted the drives from bays 2 and 3, and now the system expects you to mount whatever drive is there manually from DU. Just a WAG. I routinely run with a couple of my rarely used drives unmounted to save some power.
     
  3. danishpete thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    I did try Disk Utility, but nothing is showing up so I can't mount them.

    I can hear and feel the drives spin, so they get power but for some reason the mac can't see them...

    Very frustrating...
     
  4. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #4
    That only means the drives are getting power. SATA port may still be dead.
     
  5. danishpete thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5

    What can I do in that case??? New Logicboard? New SATA harness? Or is it the drive controllers? (the little box next the the SATA plug)? Will it affect the other 2 bays?
     
  6. 666sheep, Apr 8, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011

    666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    You could swap their connectors directly on logic board, for instance: bay 2 one (dead) with bay 4 one (working). It's not that easy, but possible.
    This way you could test if it's logic board or defective bay connector/cable.


    [​IMG]

    Edit: my bad
     
  7. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    How so? From my understanding (which is limited for the 1,1 I have to admit), the SATA harness is connected via a single SSF-8087 connector to the logic board, so no options to swap anything around.
    Might work for the power, but not for the data connection.
     
  8. danishpete thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8

    Cool, Ill have a go at that and see how I get on. All the cables are numbered yes?

    Thx.
     
  9. danishpete thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #9

    I see.... The large plug at the bottom of the picture?
     
  10. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    No, that's the parallel ATA connector for the optical drives. The one above that is the SSF-8087.
     
  11. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #11
    Darn, you're right. I stand corrected :eek:

    OP, sorry for misleading you.

    Edited my previous post. Thanks Transporteur :)
     
  12. danishpete thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #12
    Right, just tried to have the fan out and have a look. Everything looks to be in place, however there is a little break on the ATA connector, could that have something to do with it?
     

    Attached Files:

  13. danishpete thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #13
    Or are those two bays just not to save?

    Will it have any effect on the others long term? The guy I bought it from is willing to take it back, shall I do that and find another or can this be fixed?
     
  14. danishpete thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #14
    By the way, I can see the plug for the HD1 controller and that is in just fine, but there are the other plugs? Wanted to check if they might have come out...
     
  15. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #15
    It shouldn't. SATA and ATA are separate contollers.

    It's hard to say. To test it out you will need to obtain whole working SATA cable with all bays connectors. If it's dying SATA controller - other bays could die as well (or not) = logic board needs replacement. If you don't want to take this risk, return it and look for another one. Decision is up to you...
     
  16. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    This seems like a very odd problem. Personally, I'd buy a SFF-8087 breakout cable and see if that works with all connections.

    If this works, your machine is fine and the existing SATA harness is probably broken, which is an easy an cheap fix.

    So in short:
    If you can't find any disconnected connectors, buy an iPass cable (SFF-8087 to SATA), connect it to the port on the logic port and test each SATA connector separately with a drive. Get the power from one of the Molex adapters from the ODD bay or directly from the logic board.

    An iPass cable looks like this and costs about $10 to $20;
    [​IMG]
     
  17. danishpete thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #17
    How hard/easy is the sata controller to change? And are they expencive?

    Also, is there a hardware test I can run?
     
  18. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #19
    Controllers are soldered on logic board i.e. you need to replace whole logic board if it fails.

    IMO Transporteur's advice is very reasonable. Give it a shot maybe?

    If you have original Install DVDs, there is AHT (Apple Hardware Test) on one of them (see description on DVD).

    Apple Service Diagnostics is way better than AHT but is hard to find (in legal way)...

    What you linked is temperature sensor only.
     
  19. danishpete thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #20
    Yeah, I think you are right, I give it a go...

    I don't have the original in DVD's:( Gonna look for Apple Service Diagnostics, I think my friend has it...

    Thanks everyone for your help so far.
     
  20. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #21
    Apple's cable is custom though, as it also includes power (backplane connector end per HDD bay, and the way the power hooks to the logic board isn't that of a standard cable that uses backplane connections <not 4 pin flat Molex, which is the usual standard>).
     
  21. danishpete thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #22
    So, I have run the Apple diagnostic software on it and here is the result.. So what's next?? :) please....
     

    Attached Files:

    • test.jpg
      test.jpg
      File size:
      719.6 KB
      Views:
      47
  22. danishpete thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #23
    I googled it, a Fan problem?

    I should say I used the Apple Diagnostic from my Macbook Pro....
     
  23. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    Yes I know. But the standard iPass cable should get the OP an idea whether the controller has to be replaced (well actually the logic board in that case) or the iPass cable itself.

    Provided that it is an actual hardware error of course.
     
  24. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #25
    The disks won't have power, and without it, the test won't generate accurate information (no drives available, even if all the hardware is good).
     

Share This Page