Mac Pro 1.1 and missing sound.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Muppetshow, Sep 18, 2014.

  1. Muppetshow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    #1
    So, running 10.7.5 and suddenly realized that the sound is missing.

    Volume grayed out, in sound settings input/output says "no output device found" and "no input device found".

    Have repaired permissions, have reseted pRams and all the lot, have tried the toothpick trick etc...

    There is a startup chime when booting up, there is no light in the jack, sounds work normally under bootcamp.

    Anyone have pointers where to start?


    The weird thing that I made clean drive, installed 10.9.2 in it and got it to work. But even under 10.9.2 I have no sound...:(
     
  2. Muppetshow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    #2
    Anyone?? Heeeelp...!

    Like, what folders should I check for corrupted / missing files?
    Been surffing the crap out of in the interwebs about this topic and
    no dice. Does anyone have a file list what should be in the some audio folder for successful living?

    Should I try on different forum in macrumors, any suggestions?


    Edit : The 10.9.2 install was made on top of a clone (with CCC) of 10.7.5...so some crap has
    apparently been carried on.
     
  3. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #3
    This might sound stupid, but did you go to the Sound Preference panel and check, what is selected there?

    If not:
    Do you see a hardware Audio device under the Audio section of the System Information. If Realtek or Intel High Definition Audio is there (I have a Mac Pro 5,1 here, so I am not sure, what is on the 1,1), then it is a driver problem. Reinstalling the OS should fix it. If there is nothing but other audio like AirPlay, USB Display Audio etc., then there is a hardware issue.

    Since you stated that there is chime on start and there is audio in BootCamp, if the Sound Preferences are selected correctly and there is no sound, I would reinstall. It should not remove any of your settings and apps.
     
  4. westrock2000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #4
    DO you see any of this under Preferences > Sound?

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Muppetshow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    #5
    Under System Information I see this.

    Intel HighDef Audio

    Audio : 892


    Intel High Def Audio

    Audio : 892

    Headphone in..etc.


    So I see the audio Twice.O
    ne with only the Audio : 892 notion and one with the full list of outputs.


    Under Preferences > System I see only :

    - No output devices found
    - No input devices found
     
  6. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #6
    Have you tried an SMC reset?
     

Share This Page