Mac Pro 1.1 Boot Screen

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mac P, Dec 30, 2014.

  1. Mac P macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I am making this thread as a safeguard to make sure i'm about to do the right thing.

    I have had my had my Mac Pro 1.1 for a while now and i am using a (none-apple) 5770 in it. I also have a 7300 gt which i am not using as it is not supported on Yosemite. If i have the 7300 gt in, i get boot screens but it causes terrible lag as it only recognises 8mb of VRAM. If i have the 5770 in then i don't get boot screens but the system runs smooth. I now want Yosemite to recognise the card as a 5770 instead of a 5000 series and i also want boot screens for my monitors. To achieve what i want is this what i have to do? :http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,692.0.html

    Thanks
     
  2. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #3
    How'd you get Yosemite running? I've tried the pike installer, the thirty two to sixty four and either nothing happens or my usb's stop working and hardware acceleration doesn't work.
     
  3. Mac P thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    I used a pre-modded installer which used the boot.efi method. Unfortunately I can't remember where I got this from but if I find it then I'll share it with you. It was as simple as plugging in the usb and installing Yosemite just like a normal Mac. It works so well that you forget it's not even a supported system!
     
  4. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #5
    I tried everything, and always a problem. Finally I installed through my MacBook and changed the boot.efi files but for down reason it picks up my flashed hd 5770 card as. 5000 but no hardware acceleration.
     
  5. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #6
    OS X doesn't recognize it as a flashed card. Is there any indication anywhere that it's properly Mac-flashed?
     
  6. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #7
    Where could I check this? Also, I don't own a pc so if it's not flashed how can I do it on my Mac Pro?

    ----------

    Oh, it works fine in 10.7
     

Share This Page