Mac pro 1,1 CPU Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by krypticos, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. krypticos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #1
    hello im thinking about buying a mac pro and upgrading the cpu in it from 2.0 or 2.66 quad core to dual 5320 or 5355 xeons.

    my question is every video i watch says that you may have to upgrade memory but i cant find any guide that says yes you have to get new memory.

    also is there anyone here that has a mac pro 1,1 with 5355 or the 5320. if so what is your handbrake or imovie export times.
     
  2. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #2
    You don't have to upgrade the memory if you upgrade the CPU's.
    If you add up the cost of the Mac Pro 1,1 and the cost of the CPU's your going to buy to upgrade, you probably have enough to buy a used Mac Pro 3,1 8 core machine. Something to consider.
     
  3. krypticos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #3
    no not really i will have 700-750 in mac pro and 30 dollars for the cpus. thats it for cost.

    i have fb-dimm but its 4200 or 533 i think. im not sure if it will work in the mac but if not then more ram down the road.
     
  4. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #4
    I didn't realize the 5320's were so cheap, but RAM is expensive. If you can set yourself up with at least 8GB then thats a good start, a couple of 5355's and you'll have a reasonable 8 core machine. Cheapest I saw a 5355 for was $90 US so you may have to pay a little more for two.

    What are you planning on using for a video card?
     
  5. krypticos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #5
    yea the 5320's are really cheap but you can up the clock on the 5320s to 2.33ghz so vs 2.66 ghz on the xeon 5355 there is really nothing much different. also ram isnt horrible i mean 80 bucks for 4gb. so depending on what the mac pro i buy comes with, i may not need to buy more.
     
  6. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #6
    Where are you getting $80 for 4GB of ram?

    These are the current prices for RAM for that machine from OWC?

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/Mac-Pro-Memory#667-memory


    I would not try to buy 'cheap' 'dodgy' or questionable RAM from Ebay or somewhere else, RAM you 'think' might work, most likely won't.

    It's not worth going cheap on things like memory, one of the realities of using these older machines is the RAM is expensive, no way around it unfortunately.
     
  7. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #8
    You do realize that is DDR2 800 and not 667 RAM, but I suppose it should work in a MP 1,1, albeit at the slower speed.
     
  8. krypticos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #9
    no i didnt even realize that lol well pc2 5300 is still 77 for a 2x2gb kit
     

Share This Page