Mac Pro 1,1 GTX 680 issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by xdiamon, Feb 6, 2016.

  1. xdiamon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Bargteheide / Germanz
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I am new here but did all the readings to upgrade my Mac Pro OS to 10.9.5 so far.
    Runs very smoothly, but I got some issues with the GTX680 i've installed.

    First of all I flashed it with the EVGA Bios (in Windows GPU-Z already recognized as EVGA with lower clocks than my base model Palit Jetstream) to get the boot screen working but it doesn't. The screen remains blank at boot as long the login screen appears, have to say that I flashed it on my GF's Windows PC. Does that matter where I flash the card?

    Second, I feel like that the GTX could do more FPS in Benchmarks as she now does. In Unigine Valley i get around 25-35FPS in ExtremeHD, where at the Windows PC were around 50fps.
    And if I play for example League of Legends, even with the lowest settings I only get around 60FPS with no "action on the screen", with action it drops until 15-20. Needless to say that that game should't do that heavy load on a 680.

    Even tried with the NVidia drivers but no other result. The power of that card remains at ... 20% from her 100%.

    I mean okay, I only got the 2 DC Xeon's for now but that shouldn't be that big issue I think..

    Anyway, if anyone can help me out with that issue, you don't know how much that would mean to me! Bought the MP 2 days ago for 150 euros to get more into the Apple world besides my MBAir.

    Greetings from Germany,

    - xdiamon
     
  2. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #2
    1) You're heavily CPU limited by those 10 year old(!!) Xeons. This applies especially to games, since single core performance still matters a lot there.
    2) Your MacPro is EFI32, the GTX 680 is EFI64 => they can't talk to each other.
     
  3. DearthnVader macrumors regular

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #3
    ==No Boot Screen.
     
  4. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    Get the Radeon. Runs faster than Nvidia in 1,1/2,1, especially in games.
     
  5. xdiamon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Location:
    Bargteheide / Germanz
    #5
    Hey guys, thanks so far for the replies.

    After continuing reading about that I could have known it aswell.. so sorry for bothering with that question.

    I got now a fully working Gigabyte HD7950 with a flashed vbios or at least patched Bios with the mac efi and finally got bootscreen and so far a good performance.

    Thank you all guys, really appreciate the help!

    Best wishes from Germany
     

Share This Page