Mac Pro 1.1 max cpu upgrade (sorry)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GameFreak348, Feb 27, 2015.

  1. GameFreak348 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #1
    Sorry for asking but I need a quick yes or no answer. There was no Yes or no answer on google. I did search for 5 mins.

    So are the 2x Xeon X5335 the max cpu upgrade for the 1.1?
    Someone said I can use a E5445 is that also true?
     
  2. DougTheImpaler, Feb 27, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2015

    DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #2
    There's a MacPro1,1 --> 2,1 firmware available, to allow some better CPUs to work on OG Mac Pros. That should allow you to use up to X5365.

    http://ark.intel.com/products/30702/Intel-Xeon-Processor-X5365-8M-Cache-3_00-GHz-1333-MHz-FSB

    From what I can tell, you're still limited to 65nm CPUs though. The 5400 series are 45nm CPUs and I believe they are restricted to the 2008 Mac Pros.

    2,1 SMC firmware upgrade is here: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,5454.0.html

    edit: that link is SMC firmware. This one is probably what you actually want: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,1094.0.html
     
  3. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #3
    +1 to Doug.

    Just a logistics input, the X5355 Xeons are a much CHEAPER purchase than the X5365s. A pair of 55s go for around $50 on Ebay, while the 65s go for $100+. The performance difference between the two is not huge, and certainly not worth an additional $50, imo.

    Another cool option is to get Low Voltage Xeons if you're concerned about thermal output. I just purchased L5335 Xeons which are Low Voltage Quad Cores for my 1,1. They give great performance due to being quad cores, but lower temps due to their lower clock speed and TDP.
     
  4. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    I think the 3ghz quads are 150watt, thats pretty damn hot for the size of heatsink in the 1,1/2,1. Apple repair manual lists special silver heatsink compound thats used on them to keep the temps down.

    Pretty impressed by the L5335, they are 2ghz, but only 50watt. Never knew about those, or that there was a low power cpu option for 1,1 or 2,1.
     
  5. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
  6. macprobuffalo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    #6
    What thermal paste should I go with? I'm going to be running the X5365's. Any idea where to get the special apple paste?

    Was going to get the classic Arctic Silver but I am now reading that it is overrated and no longer the best.
     
  7. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #7
  8. macprobuffalo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    #8
  9. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    I honestly dont know what the best paste is anymore, there are so many kinds.

    The apple repair manual shows the silver stuff they used coming pre-applied on the 3ghz cpu's. There was even a little gasket of sorts around the top of the cpu to help it stay in place.
     
  10. macprobuffalo, Mar 14, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2015

    macprobuffalo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    #10
    I finished the upgrade a few hours ago using Arctic MX-4. These temps seem kind of high, what do you guys think?

    Running X5365 SLAED cpu's. After cleaning the heatsink and cpu I tinted them both thermal compound then applied a thin horizontal line across the cores before seating the heatsink. Hopefully the temps will drop in a few days

    EDIT- under a stress test the die temps drop to around 40 degrees celsius. Why would that be happening? SMCfancontrol is set at 1200rpm, the fans didn't get louder during the geek bench stress test

    tempsmac.jpg


    This is with the cpu's pegged
    max.jpg
     
  11. brenden macrumors regular

    brenden

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    #11
    i've actually done the X5355 upgrade in my mac 1,1 (2,1). Never ran into any heat issues. I used Arctic Silver thermal paste.
     
  12. macprobuffalo, Mar 15, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2015

    macprobuffalo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    #12
    Looks like istat doesn't work right with these mac pros. To get the real temp you must subtract what its reporting from the max cpu temp (100C). So I'm idling at 35C and full load is 60C. Sounds a lot more reasonable. Temperature monitor doesn't report cpu temp at all on this mac running OS X 10.10

    Istat info here

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1071398
     

Share This Page