Mac Pro 1,1 PCIe Lanes 8X vs 16X

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by brianbrook, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. brianbrook, Jan 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016

    brianbrook macrumors member

    brianbrook

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Location:
    Northern California
    #1
    I've got a 2006 1,1 running 10.10.5 and I just put in a Gigabyte 750 Ti 4GB, it would not work in slot 1, the 16X slot where the 7300 GT resided for almost 10 years, anyways, I am happy it works at all in slot 2 at 8X and I just wondered is it the Maxwell card or do other GPU's not work in slot 1? I wonder what the speed difference is between 8X and 16X in PCIe 1.0?
     
  2. cw48494 macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #2
    It should work in slot 1, not sure why it isn't doing so. There isn't a noticeable difference in speed with such a low-mid card.
     
  3. brianbrook thread starter macrumors member

    brianbrook

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    I tried it twice in slot 1 and just got a Black screen with DVI and HDMI? I need a 4 GB card for Resolve and it's working good for now, I wonder how a 980 would run in this 10 year old? I may get a used one down the road after Pascal comes out....
     
  4. cw48494 macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #4
    There's a bottleneck for sure, but the main bottleneck is the CPU holding it back, barely noticeable vs PCIE 3.0.
     
  5. brianbrook, Jan 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016

    brianbrook thread starter macrumors member

    brianbrook

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    I really thought it would be a worse bottleneck though, compared to an I7 4770K, 780 Ti 3 Gb PC there is not much difference or slowdown with a 268 MB/Sec read on SSD, it's a testament to the design 10 years ago. And the 3,1's on up are even more relevent!
     
  6. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #6
    Yes, Intel designs some awesome chipsets....
     

Share This Page