Mac Pro 1.1 RAM buy cheaper or more expensive

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by chipandegg, Jun 5, 2019.

  1. chipandegg macrumors regular

    chipandegg

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I've had a Mac Pro 1.1 for years, its still going strong and there are no problems - I want to max the out thew RAM to 32GB

    At the moment it has 10GB. The last time I bought RAM for it was about 9 years through Crucial, I checked them again and they don't seem to stock RAM for the this model of Mac Pro anymore - they do provide SSDs
    (but that's a question for another tread).

    I came across two other vendors

    https://www.mrmemory.co.uk/memory-r...n#!ddr2-pc2-6400-800mhz-240-pin-apple-mac-pro

    The above company provide RAM in two configurations (both come in pairs)
    2GB - 667MHz - £29.99
    4GB - 800MHz - £28.50

    The RAM currently inside the Mac Pro 677MHz, as far as I've read the 800MHz is compatible? If I was going to buy from it would have to be the 4GB pairs to max the RAM.

    The other supplier, supplies OWC RAM

    https://www.flexxmemory.co.uk/memor...or-the-mac-pro-8-core-quad-core-xeon-systems/

    A 4GB pair here is £74.79 - per pair. Maxing RAM this way would be a lot more expensive, but I imagine its the way to go?

    Which one should I go for?
     
  2. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #2
  3. Neodym macrumors 68000

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #3
    800MHz should be compatible, if the rest of the specs matches. They would just be running at standard 667MHz. Just don't go slower.

    Regarding maxing out: I seem to remember that there has been a long thread (or perhaps multiple ones) that discussed the Pro's & Con's of doing that. Quintessence was (iirc) that you would have to suffer from a speed loss (either from maxing out itself or from not considering the dual channel configs - can't remember anymore), but that that could be negligible if your workflow benefits from having more Ram.

    Search the forum and take a read.
     
  4. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #4
    Slow down is caused by maxed out RAM config and a PCIe SSD. With 8X4GB you are nowhere near the optimum 56GB or the maximum 64GB.
     

Share This Page

3 June 5, 2019