Mac pro 1.1 running win8

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by krisosha, Jun 20, 2013.

  1. krisosha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    #1
    Hey guys,

    So i'm picking up my mac pro 1.2 next week which I managed to score for $150 (X2 2.26GHZ xeon, 8gb ram)

    Anyway, im hoping to put something like a gtx 660 in it due to its power for money, however the 1.2 doesn't support mountain lion.

    My theory is this:

    1. Leave original video card in, install boot camp win 8 ect..
    2. When install is done, power off and swap to 660
    3. Power up on windows 8 side, remove osx partition and assign space to osx hd.

    either that or il grab a 7950 which is suported by everything, but is $100 dearer.

    But would that work for me to use?
     
  2. Jake0604 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #2
    You can install Mountain Lion using a hackintosh bootloader.
     
  3. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    which you will need for 7950

    it won't work with 32 bit kernel drivers in 10.7.5

    putting Win 8 on 1,1 is doable, but not easy
     
  4. krisosha thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    #4
    I was pretty sure 7950 worked out of the box with the 1.2 on latest lion edition.
    (as from reports from people)

    So with windows loaded on it, it should work with all graphics cards right? (With drivers installed obviously)
     
  5. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #5
    find those reports and read them again

    getting Win 8 on 1,1 is harder than you think
     
  6. krisosha thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    #6
    Once it's on though it should be smooth sailing for almost any video card from there right?

    Also my main source for the 9750 is on the box it says it also supports 10.7.3
     
  7. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    You will find it says 10.8.3 or 10.7.5 but on a 3,1 2008 or later

    they mean it

    Only works in 10.7 using a 64 bit kernel
     
  8. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #8
    Just to note in case you weren't aware, you need Windows 8 Pro to use both CPUs in your system.
     

Share This Page