Mac Pro 1,1 - Sleep issues on Windows + reboot issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by darnocs, Jan 26, 2018.

  1. darnocs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #1
    I have a Mac Pro 1,1 (dual-core 3.0 GHz Xeons, 32 GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 4870 512 MB GPU, two or three hard drives). It's on El Capitan but I have it dual booting via Boot Camp with Windows 10.

    However, when the sleep function does not seem to work on Windows: at least, when the computer wakes from sleep, the computer will freeze, occasionally BSoD, and reboots…or tries to reboot. However, when it reboots (or if I issue a reboot command from either Mac or Windows), it will power off, and then the fans will turn on really high and it sounds like it's continually starting, turning off, and starting, without ever actually booting up to any screen.

    1. Is there a way to make it sleep properly on Windows 10?
    2. Is there a way to fix the reboot issue?
     
  2. Macschrauber macrumors 6502

    Macschrauber

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Gpu or psu

    For psu strip the mac as much as possible, minimal drives, even just a thumb drive, minimal ram, etc.

    For gpu pull the card and try to get in remotely
     
  3. SamirPD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Location:
    HSV CHI
    #3
    I wouldn't think this is a hardware issue, or there would also be problems when not running windows.

    I would check to see if windows is detecting the hardware correctly. If there are any yellow marks, something doesn't have the appropriate driver, which can cause all sorts of havoc.
     
  4. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #4
    Is your HD4870 flashed, does it have Mac EFI?
    I had the same trouble in Windows when waking from sleep my MP1,1 with HD7950 on EFI ROM.
    Everything was ok if i flipped the switch on PC ROM side.
     
  5. grooby macrumors newbie

    grooby

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    #5
    Same issue here with PC ROM on GTX 970. Basically had to set Windows 10 to not sleep at this point. No issue in OS X mode tho.
     

Share This Page

4 January 26, 2018