Mac Pro 1.1 updated to 32 GB RAM :D

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    I've made a great deal on eBay.uk.

    I got 8 sticks of 4 GB RAM DDR2 FB-DIMM 800 MHz Micron Memory (small radiators) for 1/5 of price in Poland !

    I've putted them in my Mac Pro 2006 (1,1) and in a few weeks I will transfer them to my Mac Pro 2008 (3,1).

    I've disabled SWAP file in Vista and putted Vista on Kingston's 40 GB SSD drive.

    It's flying ! After bootup it takes 2,5 GB RAM. With some simple apps like Firefox it goes up to 3 GB RAM.
     
  2. silencer88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #2
    Cool... but how do you intend to utilize the other 29GB of RAM sitting there idle?
     
  3. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    Normally on SL - music production with Logic 9.
     
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Out of interest how much were the sticks?

    Surprised it was cheaper in uk compared to poland. :) enjoy
     
  5. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  6. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    :eek:
    Can you please tell me where you bought them?
     
  7. Renderz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    #8
    Hi, so does DDR2 800 actually work in a 2006 Mac Pro 1,1? I thought the higher speeds would cause memory corruptions hence why I've not considered them an option.
     
  8. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #9
    800MHz RAM runs at 667MHz without any problems. That's true for all (or at least most) higher-speed RAM, as long as the technology is the same (e. g. DDR2 667 and DDR2 800). But simple DDR2 800 RAM does not work in either the 2006 or the 2008 Mac Pro. You need 667MHz or 800MHz FB-DIMMs.
     

Share This Page