Mac Pro 1,1 Upgrade Path / Server

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LordSpunky, Feb 23, 2016.

  1. LordSpunky macrumors newbie

    LordSpunky

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    #1
    Hi guys, I'm new here. I've been a Mac user for 10 years and my most current Mac is an late-2009 27" iMac. As a house hold we have some different systems (about 200 - but that is a story for another day), running Mac OS X, Windows XP / Windows 7 and AmigaOS.

    So basically I've just bought a Mac Pro 1,1 (it hasn't arrived yet) and I want to know what current upgrade paths are? I know the official OS limit is X Lion, but I thought I read there is a work around to get it up to El Capitan. Is that correct.

    It has 5GB Ram (Not sure in what configuration) again I believe the official max is 16GB - possible 32GB.

    What about hard drives? Is there an address issue? 4 bays, can I run for example 3TB a bay?

    It comes with 2x 7300GT's. But I'm thinking of getting a 1GB graphics card (I want to play Xcom2!)

    I've been thinking of building a server for a while so I may end up giving it ago (hence the hard drive question) currently I just use a WD NAS, but it is nearly maxed out, I want somewhere we can create Time Machine backups, stream films to my TV etc.

    Any help would be great
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    Yes there is, see this thread. You will need a GPU newer than the 7300GT to get adequate performance out of it though.
    Actually, someone even got 64 GB to work.
    3 TB should work fine. Power consumption aside, they make great servers and I use mine similarly.
     
  3. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    You can flash a 1,1 with the 2,1 firmware, which increases the RAM limit from 32 to 64 GB, and enables compatibility with a newer generation of processors having twice as many cores.

    See this thread:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mac-pro-cpu-compatibility-list.1954766/

    It sounds like you are replacing a NAS. You don't need a ton of RAM and processing power for a simple file server. You might benefit from some features in the newer versions of OS X though, so I think you are on the right track.
     
  4. LordSpunky thread starter macrumors newbie

    LordSpunky

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    #4
    Thanks for your replies. It has arrived and I'm very excited! I've cleaned it up a bit. It is running 2x2GB chips and 2x512MB chips. I will upgrade the GPU so I can get El Capitan on it at some point (may even do the ram if cheap enough).

    I'm thinking about using 1 HDD as a network Time Machine drive. Will I have to install OSX Server on it to do that?
     
  5. justmetoo, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016

    justmetoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    ...wishing I was in the La Cloche...
    #5
    My 'Frankenmac' MP 1,1 is still running fine for my son's use with 10.10 but overcoming the early EFI limitations isn't for the faint of heart, though there are better step-by-step guides out there now. I am loath to even try to update to 10.10.5 let alone El-C. but since your OS upgrade is fresh why not go for broke.

    A used PC version of the nVidia 580, 570, or more affordable GTX 560Ti with 2 GB vRAM gpu (what I am using) I think are the max upgrade limits for the 1,1, but am sure somebody will correct me. Even then, the 560 is a PCIe-2 card and the 1,1 only is PCIe so really a more powerful card is truly a waste of money that you could spend on a SSD.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...out-nvidia-pc-non-efi-graphics-cards.1440150/

    So yes, proud member of the "Never give up, never surrender your 1,1" community. I'm surprised to see quite a few new posts from people resurrecting the original Mac Pro Intel systems, though my reason is more nostalgic (original owner thus my 2006 account date, tho had a quad G5 before), looking back I do not think I'd go through those headaches all over if I were to have picked it up second hand...

    I may have some RAM to give you (literally give - please don't delete this post mod!) but it's been a while so don't remember what sticks are buried and getting dusty...
     
  6. LordSpunky thread starter macrumors newbie

    LordSpunky

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    #6
    Thanks for the tips and offer (I do have 16gb now though with 8x 2gb).
    Once I get a new GPU ill be giving it a go!
     

Share This Page