Mac Pro 1.1 upgrading system to drive to SSD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by chipandegg, Jun 5, 2019.

  1. chipandegg macrumors regular

    chipandegg

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Using a Mac Pro 1.1 - its a great computer and is still running great. I'm still using the original HDD for the system drive (believe it or not), I'm riding on borrowed time here.

    I'm looking to upgrade the system drive to an SSD,

    Is this just a case of cloning the the current HDD system drive to the new SSD using SuperDuper and then booting from the SSD?

    I renamed the HDD, Mac Home ages ago, should name the SSD the same name? If i didn't would certain files be able to find other files (I'm thinking sampler instruments which are on another drive/Kontakt linking up)?

    I understand that SSD are SATA3, though I saw that they backwards compatible to SATA1.


    The would you buy a special bracket to fix, I saw a guy put foam underneath it support it.
     
  2. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #2
  3. vertical smile macrumors 68040

    vertical smile

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    #3
    I have the Mac Pro 1,1. I have put many different drives in it over the years. I currently have two SSDs in a software RAID0 for the boot drive, and two HDDs in a software RAID0 for my media server.

    Yes, I use CCC, but I assume it would be the same with SuperDuper.

    No, it wouldn't matter, when you clone the drive, the name will go with it.

    Once you clone it, it wouldn't be any different than the original drive.


    Yup.


    You don't need to, but I would.

    The brackets are so cheap, and it makes inserting the drive so easy.

    I like the IcyDock 2.5" to 3.5" adapters like this one, but there are cheaper ones out there:

    ICY DOCK 2.5" to 3.5" SAS / SATA HDD & SSD Converter / Mount / Kit / Adapter - EZConvert MB882SP-1S-2B
    --- Post Merged, Jun 5, 2019 ---
    Also, I am pretty sure the Mac Pro 1,1 has SATA II, not SATA I.
     
  4. Alaska_guy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    #4
    I just use high end velcro from any fabric store, I imagine even Walmart sells it... Pull adhesive side off, put it on the ssd, attach the other hook/loop velcro to it, pull the adhesive side off of that side and then that side attaches to the case. Done deal, it isn't going anywhere.
     
  5. zorinlynx macrumors 603

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #5
    Back when I used a Mac Pro 1,1 I just shoved an SSD onto the connector and it stayed on its own. Used the machine like that for a couple years. Never had a problem.

    One thing I love about SSDs is how lightweight and small they are, and since there's no moving parts, mounting them securely is less critical.
     

Share This Page

4 June 5, 2019