Mac Pro 1,1 will not boot from dvd / cd or boot menu

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dfroshie, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. dfroshie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #1
    Hi all,

    Long time Mac user but never ran across this issue before. I have a mac pro 2006. When I got it a year ago it had Leopard on it working great. I then put windows 7 on it without boot camp just using the drivers needed. I installed that on another drive.

    Worked swimmingly until I deleted the mac partitions completely and now I can not boot form my Leopard dvd to re install mac os. When I put the Leopard dvd in and hold down C, I hear the dvd drive accessing, but the screen just stays black....I never get the grey screen to even choose the boot cd or windows partition.

    I do remember once I did the method of holding the control key down to stick the drive I wanted so it booted automatically within the mac boot menu.

    Now I'm stuck. It boots to windows fine, but never shows me the mac boot / chooser menu at all. I've done all the nvram, pram, resets and that doesnt work. Its like the mac boot loader is gone....

    Please help.
     
  2. sboerup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #2
    This might sound silly (no offense) but are you sure you have the right DVD in the tray? When holding the C key doesn't work, I will hold down the option(alt) and then it will bring up all available bootable discs (sometimes there is a delay with the optical drive showing up though). This has always worked for me.
     
  3. dknightd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    #3
    My guess, only a guess, is that your optical drive is bad. Do you have another osx disk you can boot from?
     
  4. dfroshie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #4
    Yes, I put a Leopard 10.6.3 dvd trying both dvd trays and I hear them spin, but see nothing. The DVD trays do work in win 7 perfectly.
     
  5. dfroshie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #5
    The DVD trays do work in win 7 perfectly so I'm thinking the trays are fine.
     
  6. sirnh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #6
    The snow leopard 10.6.3 disc... is it a boxed version or is it a restore disc from another machine? You should try the OS restore disc that came with your mac and see if it boots with that. If it's a boxed install disc, you may be able to contact apple for a replacement.
     
  7. dfroshie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #7
    The disk was a boxed version I bought a best buy. I tried the OS disk that came with the mac and it wont boot either. The crazy thing is though is I think its booting....but it just doesnt turn on the screen. But when I let it boot into windows 7, the screens come on fine.
     
  8. H0M3R macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #8
    What about holding down the option key when rebooting? I seem to recall doing that and it gave me menu with a CD icon to boot from.
     
  9. dfroshie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #9
    yea, standard procedure right....I know and very frustrating not seeing that boot menu. It just wont come up...the screen stays black and just sits there.
    :eek:
     
  10. dknightd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    #10
    Is one of your dvd drives the original? It used to be Macs had some special juju in their drives that would let them boot a Mac. Not sure if that is true any more.

    Maybe you made yourself a hacinPC
     
  11. dfroshie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #11
    Man I cant believe this. How do you delete the MAC EFI boot rom??? Yea the drives are original mac drives/dvd.

    Why would it boot into windows by itself and not let me boot from an OSX dvd?
     
  12. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #12
    Remove HDD, start with SL Install disc only. If it will boot this way, set Startup Disk to DVD and put HDD back.
     
  13. macz1 macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #13
    Perhaps you have a new graphics card and the system version on the DVD does not include the drivers... Do you have the stock GPU installed or a recent one?
     

Share This Page