Mac Pro 1,1 with Intel 600p M.2 SSD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MortenMoulder, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. MortenMoulder macrumors member

    MortenMoulder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    #1
    Is it possible to install an Intel 600p into my old Mac Pro 1,1 and boot off it? Is it easy? Is there a guide? Point me in the right direction, please.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Earl Urley macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #2
    Not possible to have it boot as MacPro 1,1-5,1 ROMs don't recognize nVMe SSDs.
     
  3. MortenMoulder thread starter macrumors member

    MortenMoulder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    #3
    Damn. So I would be better off trading this 250GB one for either 1x 500GB or 2x 250GB and RAID 0? I just don't like the performance of this HDD as a boot drive.
     
  4. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #4
    FWIW I use 2 Samsung 250GB SSDs in raid0 as my boot drive in my MP1,1.
    Works very well, just make sure to maintain a good backup plan.
    DiskSpeedTest.png
     
  5. MortenMoulder thread starter macrumors member

    MortenMoulder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    #5
    Kind of sad to see that performance. It's half of what the theoretical maximum is :-(
     
  6. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    Just what do you think the "theoretical maximum" of the SATA2 bus is?
    I'm a "glass half full" kinda guy and choose to think getting near SATA3 speeds on an old SATA2 bus is kinda cool.:p
     
  7. Yahooligan, Apr 20, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2017

    Yahooligan macrumors 6502a

    Yahooligan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    SATA2 (What your Mac has) is limited to 300MB/s, SATA3 is limited to 600MB/s.
     
  8. MortenMoulder thread starter macrumors member

    MortenMoulder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    #8
    I know there is a limit on SATA 2 and so on, but since the drive is SATA 3, I would hate throwing "so much money" after it. What happens if I grab a PCIe to SATA 3 adapter and RAID 0 them through that? Would I be able to reach something closer to the theoretical maximum of 2x SATA 3 SSDs in RAID 0?

    Yeah I know that. That's why I said theoretical maximum, which might be the wrong term to use (when there is a hardware limitation).
     
  9. Yahooligan macrumors 6502a

    Yahooligan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    You are very limited with that 1,1, the PCIe SATA3 cards that are compatible with the 1,1 will only run at PCIe 1.0 1x speed (200MB/s max), a standard 2.5" SSD in one of the drive bays running at SATA2 speeds will be faster. Which makes the product I linked above a huge waste (Forgot we were talking about a 1,1).
     
  10. MortenMoulder thread starter macrumors member

    MortenMoulder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    #10
    Yeah that's true. Hmm. I just really like this old machine (especially more after I'm upgrading to 2x X5355 and 32GB RAM). I'm not even sure if I'm going to notice a difference between SATA 2 and SATA 3 (not RAID 0), when I just use it as a headless server with Plex and so on it.
     

Share This Page