Mac Pro 1,1 won't boot up after update to 10.10.5.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by auptimus, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. auptimus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I made a huge mistake to update my Yosemite to 10.10.5 and after it rebooted, nothing worked! Now I get no display, no start-up chime, only the power solid light on and the cooling fun. Can't even start in safe mode, because the keyboard does not respond. Any help will be appreciated.
    Thanks.
     
  2. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
  3. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #3
    But the problem is I don't even have access to that file. By the way, I even try to boot from a Mountain Lion HDD, but I keep having the same problem.
     
  4. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #4
    So it's not Yosemite related, but your computer just died (or looks like it did).
    Reset SMC as the first step in your rescue mission.
     
  5. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #5
    Hi,
    Thanks a lot for your answer. I hope it is not dead. The problem is i can't get to the smc. The keyboard does not respond. I will do my best to make it work again (if it's not dead). All this happened after it rebooted to finish the 10.10.5 update. Never happened before.

     
  6. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #7
    Thank you very much fir the tip. I will definitely give it a try when i get home. Hope it will come back to life.
     
  7. Ant3000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Also check your RAM is OK - a friend had a Macbook that refused to boot and turned out it was a bad RAM module. Good luck.
     
  8. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #9
    I did put new RAM sticks few weeks ago, but it worked fine. This problem I'm having started after the update to 10.10.5.
     
  9. Ant3000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    It is perhaps worth removing RAM or checking it is seated properly as it is so easy to do. It may rule it out at least. Is Mountain Lion on a separate HD?
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    That could be a co-incident, no start up chime should be nothing related to Yosemite.
     
  11. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #12
    I will do this weekend. Yes, mountain lion on a separate hd.

     
  12. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #13
    I have removed all the RAM sticks and put them back one by one, no luck.
     
  13. Ant3000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Did you follow the instructions on the inside of your Macs side panel for positioning RAM in pairs? I think it tells you which slots to start adding ram to first. When I had bad RAM there was a light on the RAM board flagging up something was wrong - obviously panel needs to be off to see this - although I think my power button also flashed. Were you trying to boot into ML? If this is your last known working OS I would try to boot into that rather than El Cap which may not have completed installation. Have you tried booting into recovery? Did you reset SMC as detailed earlier? What graphics card do you have?
     
  14. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #15
    Get yourself the Service Manual (google it). Check DIAG LEDs and other troubleshooting methods as minimum config etc.
     
  15. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #16
    Yes, I just did. Yes, I was trying to boot into ML. My last know working OS was Yosemite. I can't even boot into recovery mode. The keyboard does not respond. The light of the mouse is ON though. As for resetting the SMC, I did it with the switch on the logic board. There is no chime. With or wihtout RAM or graphics card or HDD, there is no chime.

     
  16. auptimus, Jan 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2016

    auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #17
    Hi guys,
    I have a good news. I just did one thing that I never thought would make it work! I share with people who have the same problem. Here is what I did. I removed the battery from the logic board. Pushed the power button and surprise! The chime came back. I replaced the battery, connected the monitor, and it booted up! Here is a pic of Yosemite after it rebooted.

    Thank you all for your suggestions. I really appreciate.

    I thought the logic board was fried!
     

    Attached Files:

  17. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #18
    This kind of error so early in the process would not be caused by the OS.
    Pull the drive and see, whether you get the boot screen with error or at least a chime.
    I would always have a version of Lion so you can boot into that for repairs.
     

Share This Page