Mac Pro 1,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jakesaunders27, Jul 10, 2013.

  1. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi All,
    Just got myself a Mac Pro 1,1 what can i do with it software wise like mountain lion etc i know theres an app that will let you install ML on the 1,1 Mac Pro and also what type of RAM is it as i have some ddr2 dimms lying around that i tried to put in but they didn't fit. Also what SSDs do you recommend

    Cheers again

    Jake
     
  2. Omnius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #2
    I believe you're thinking of chameleon bootloader to get mountain lion running. Keep in mind that a 1,1 mac pro has only a 32 bit EFI.

    That model uses special very expensive server ram with big heat sinks. you can find the exact type on everymac.com
     
  3. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Hi,
    Thanks for your reply, thanks for the RAM link, regarding the boot loader, is it easy to do whats the process?

    Cheers
     
  4. ChrisFerri macrumors member

    ChrisFerri

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    It uses 667MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM ECC RAM. Say that 5x fast. I used this kind in mine. I bought it about a week ago and its working fine in mine.
     
  5. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    The ability to easily run Mountain Lion may also depend on whether you have an upgraded graphics card or not.

    From your signature it looks like you have the X1900XT which may not work.
    However regardless if you have that card, make sure to keep it dust free as it has a bit of a design flaw where it will tend to fill up with dust and then overheat, permanently damaging itself in the process.

    If you do decide to upgrade the RAM, make sure to get the ones with the proper heat sinks for the Mac Pro and not the flat heat spreaders as they can cause issues with overheating.

    I'm not going to get into what SSD to use in your Mac Pro (I use an old Kingston SSD in my Mac Pro 1,1, which I would not recommend nowadays as its old/not sold anymore anyway), however when fitting the SSD note that you'll either need (1) a 3.5" to 2.5" enclosure adapter, (2) bodge it into place or (3) run a SATA cable from one of the spare ports on the motherboard (fairly difficult to get to) to the optical bay. If you buy an enclosure, make sure it's backplane compatible or at-least make sure other Mac Pro users have reported that it fits.
     
  6. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Thanks so much for your reply, yes the card is the one in my signature, regarding SSDs i have been looking at the Corsair Neutron GTX are these decent?

    Thanks Again
    Jake
     
  7. Omnius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #7
    I think the brand we hear the best reviews about here are the Samsung 840s. I have a kingston SSD but it operated in a wonky fashion on an old 2,1 mac mini. It's fine on the newer machines but that made me nervous about reliability.
     
  8. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
  9. Omnius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #9
    You don't really need multiple threads that are all on the same issue. This one would have sufficed. You might request a moderator drop one thread.
     
  10. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    yeah ok didn't know if it was appropriate in the same thread, i will get that other one closed.

    So SATA 6 HDDs & SSDs will work on SATA 3 fine? And I have heard NEC Chipset USB 3.0 cards work with the Mac Pro with any mac usb 3 driver is that true? Cheers
     
  11. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    Also whats the situation regarding USB 3 cards can i use a NEC chipset one with any mac driver?

    Cheers
     

Share This Page