Mac pro 12 core processor upgrade?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by shangshangw, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. shangshangw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #1
    Is it possible to upgrade the 2.66 12-core mac pro's processor to 3.33?
    What happens if remove one 2.66 6-core, and change the other to 3.33, will it work properly?
    Or change one to 3.33 and keep the other, what will happen?:confused:
     
  2. Ryan P macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #2
    all the stars in the universe will go nova. don't do it! :) To the best of my knowledge both CPU's need to be the same speed and the same stepping.
     
  3. shangshangw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #3
    what happens if both are changed to 3.33? will our sun go nova?
    or just remove both 2.66, and install one 3.33?
     
  4. jedijoe macrumors 6502

    jedijoe

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #4
    So the 2.66 TDP is 95W, the 3.33 is 130 watts, so they won't work together.

    And even if they matched, the 3.33 would run at 2.66 anyway.

    The 2.93 turbo boost is 3.33, what do you need the 12x3.33 for? or 1x3.6GHz? (3.33 turbo boost isn't as much a gain as the 2.93)
     
  5. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #5
    Considering that the highest TDP chip Apple offers is 95W (X5670) and the dual socket X5680 operating at 3.33GHz is 130W I'd say the only way to find out is to test it (keep in mind they are $1663 each)
     
  6. shangshangw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #6
    Because I as a stupid axx, I ordered 12-core 2.66, then realized actually I want a single 3.33 6-core
    I want to kill myself:rolleyes:
     
  7. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #7
    return it when you get it, there is a 15 day no questions asked return window
     
  8. jedijoe macrumors 6502

    jedijoe

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #8
    Apple has a 14-day return policy. Just send it back?
     
  9. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    If you wanted to upgrade to the 3.33GHz 12c, you should have just bought the 2.4GHz 8c model; that would have been a lot more economical. ;)
     
  10. MaxUbiquitous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #10
    There are some custom upgraded 8core 3.33's on ebay..they might know..
     
  11. Broc27 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #11
    I'd also really like to know this as I am considering removing my dual e5620s and replacing them with a single x5670 or x5680. That would permit a future upgrade to a second corresponding cpu.

    Is that possible?
     
  12. JonnyRacket macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #12
    Processor upgrade question

    not sure if this is the right place to post this question, or if there is another thread thats better suited, so thanks in advance for any help...

    i have a late '06 Mac Pro with 2 dual-core 2.66 processors...
    what is the best i can do for upgrading the processors? is it possible to slap a couple 6-cores into it? i have no idea if the socket is the same or not, havent touched the inside of a computer since before multi-cores came out (and NEVER built up a Mac, not counting adding memory/hard drives)

    thanks again everybody!
    Jon
     
  13. MacinJosh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #13
    The absolute best would be a pair of X5365s. They are 3.0GHz quad-core chips resulting in an 8-core Mac. Essentially the same as a Mac Pro 2,1.
     
  14. Schismz, Jul 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011

    Schismz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    #14
    I don't have dual 3.33GHz CPUs in my 12-core, but there are many people who appear to have successfully made this switch. Offhand, digilloyd has ranted about running a dual CPU 12-core @ 3.33GHz since last year:

    http://macperformanceguide.com/blog/2010/20100902_MacPro12--macpro.html

    http://macperformanceguide.com/Mac-MacPro-upgrade.html

    And OWC will sell you an insanely overpriced CPU upgrade for same (they are in fact offering up to a 3.46GHz dodecacore):

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/turnkey/MacPro/2009_2010_Xeon_Processor/Apple_Mac_Pro_2010_2/

    So I doubt it's impossible, I am guessing the only real problem you'd run into would be increased heat and perhaps the need to manually (using SMC) adjust your fans higher to keep cooling it.
     
  15. JonnyRacket macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #15
    thanks for the info!
    i'm gonna check it out right now.
    is there a BEST place to buy the processors? i usually hit the big chain websites like tiger direct, etc. just wondering if theres a better source...
    thanks again
     
  16. JonnyRacket macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #16

    hi, i'm still looking for processors...
    the X5365s are very expensive compared to a few other quad-core processors out there. here's a stupid question... Why? i was looking at an:
    Intel Xeon E3-1230 Sandy Bridge 3.2GHz LGA 1155 80W Quad-Core Server Processor BX80623E31230
    at a popular electronics site and it was a little over $200. compared to the X5365 which look to bee in the $500+ range... on top of being discontinued apparently

    what am i missing here???

    thanks again
    jon
     
  17. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #17
    With your system you cannot use Sandy Bridge, you must use 51xx or 53xx series Xeon processors. X5365 would be the max you could use, but you could try for lesser clocked variants which may cost less...like the X5355 (2.66 quad) or the X5345 (2.33 quad). Two of those said processors would upgrade your Quad 2006-model Mac Pro to an 8-core machine.

    See here:

    http://www.intel.com/cd/channel/res...cts/server/processors/q5300/feature/index.htm

    This forum member upgraded a 2006 Mac Pro with X5355's (dual Quad-Core 2.66GHz) bought from eBay. Follow up by reading his post:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=745426
     
  18. ukmobile macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    #18
    Agree with You.
     
  19. Mac Kiwi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #19
    What would be the newest processors I could put in a MacPro 3/1 3.2?.....could I go 12 core?
     
  20. bsbeamer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #20
    Not sure if you can swap those boards for a slightly different one or not. Would assume you could go up to X5492 on the "stock" boards. TDP should be the same.
     
  21. xDeLiRiOuSx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    #21
    Not sure what processors you "can" use, but I know for sure you "can't" go 12 cores unless you convert your computer to a 5,1 (or a 4,1 that has firmware upgraded to 5,1).
     
  22. thekev, May 1, 2013
    Last edited: May 1, 2013

    thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #22
    Ugh. You can't use Sandy Bridge, but even if you could those would be wrong. The E3s are the Xeon labeled version of what goes in the imac and other desktops. They are not the same thing. They require a different board, and you can only use one. Sandy Bridge E is the successor, which still wouldn't work. For a pair of E5-2430s, which are the cheapest that would work in a dual configuration, you would spend around $1100, but they will not work in the current mac pro. As you noticed, the current mac pro uses outdated parts.

    Edit: blargh somehow I replied to one of the ancient posts
     
  23. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #23
    That's a pretty expensive blunder! What do you use the machine for? Make no mistake of the power of the 2.66GHz 12 core. If you use the machine for rendering, keep in mind the raw processing scores on 64 bit geekbench for the 2.66GHz 12 core are 22,414 and the 3.33GHz 6 core is 15,513. That's a significant difference... if you were in my line of work you wouldn't even want the 6 core! For audio editing and programs like photoshop you're probably better off the the 6 core, though. After effects, Premiere, Maya, C4D, scientific applications, etc. love the 12 core's processing power and make life in workstation computing much easier!
     
  24. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #24
    For those looking for used xeon prices for upgrading your systems, check out this place... http://www.itcreations.com. Found them on ebay years ago and have built 4 systems with there chips, 2 harpertown and 2 westmere systems, which I still have the X5670 system for myself. Not bad but sometimes you can find cheaper but have found these folks pretty competitive. Nice thing about xeons, die hard chips. Either they work or don't.
    Just do your research as to know exactly you need for your board (stepping, speed, etc). I have done business through ebay and sometimes direct to save a few bucks. I got addicted to building duallies after changing the chips in my mac pro's I used to have. Made a few bucks on the way. If you know of less expensive places, by all means post it. Considering changing from 2.93 to 3.33.
     
  25. mizar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Location:
    Italy
    #25
    3.33 12 core

    I got a Mac pro from ebay without processor and Gpu

    Successful upgraded to 12 core 3.33 (got from ebay) + Gainward gtx 680 already flash with macrom

    I'm using the system since 4 months without any problems , powered on all the day , launching all kind of benchmarks without any problems.

    My set up

    Mac pro 2010 2x3.33

    64gb ram

    Gtx680

    4 SSD connected to Atto H644 to have 6g speed (maxupgrades ssd adaptor plus custom cable)

    USB 3 Pcie card native drivers ORICO

    USB 2 Pcie from sonnet

    Custom power cable that draw the power from the bottom optical drive cage to power the two USB cards
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page