Mac Pro 15 for Windows 10?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Storaro, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. Storaro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #1
    I want to buy a Mac, since I am kind of sick with my Windows laptops. I will need to use Windows though occasionally due to some apps, but I hear Windows 10 works better on Mac than Win 7 used to.

    My choice is ONLY between the standard 15 inch models - Iris Pro/256GB or Ati/512GB. I cannot configure it due to where I need to get it from.

    So my main question is does the Mac under Windows 10 work only with the external GPU, meaning that I would be getting like 2-3 hours max under Windows?

    I do not need a dedicated GPU, my concern is that 256 GB might not be enough for the dual OS.
     
  2. Bending Pixels macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #2
    While you can dual boot to WindBlows, i'd personally recommend using VMWare Fusion or Parallels and run it as a VM. VMWare Fusion allows YOU to configure how the GPU is accessed. Ergo...you can set it so it doesn't use the GPU and increase battery life.
     
  3. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #3
    Why do you need Windows? Depending on your uses you could probably get by with a virtual machine, you'd probably come out ahead battery-wise.

    Bootcamped Windows does not support graphics switching AFAIK.
     
  4. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #4
  5. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #5
    Virtualbox may be sufficient (and it's free). It's fine for light tasks like MS Office.
     
  6. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #6
    OS X can do anything Windows can do - frankly Windows 10 is ugly too and OS X is wayyyy ahead of Windows and Microsoft is just trying to play catch up.

    If you really need Windows for certain applications that are Windows only (if you are an engineer or whatever), like everyone mentioned, run it through Parallels as a VM. Windows 10 is free as far as I know, so you're in good hands.

    Once you go OS X you'll never go back. Just the fact of the trackpad gestures on a MacBook Pro and OS X are so fluid it will make you hate Windows laptops due to lack of integration.
     
  7. Aneef macrumors regular

    Aneef

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Location:
    Lahore, Pakistan
    #7
    My rMBP's SSD is 256 GB and I use both OS X Yosemite and Windows 10 (dual boot). I've got an external 2 TB HDD for my media contents. 256 GB is sufficient for dual booting if u havent got a lot of media contents,etc. The other best way is to use Parallels Desktop for running Windows 10 as it consumes less SSD space.
     
  8. Storaro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #8
    Thanks for the attention, guys, great input!
    I do a lot of trading daily (stocks, Forex, etc.) and there is a lot of stuff that is still missing for OSX, though they have versions for IOS (where is the logic I do not know).

    Anyway, I have not really used VMs, so I am going to just ask - while using these apps, I constantly do some changes to the charts, etc, which are being saved in the app's folder. Does this work the same under Parallels? I know this is a really noob question, but I have not ever worked on a virtual machine.

    @duervo , so it is now possible for the Iris Pro to work most of the time under Windows?
    I know that this was not possible with the previous nVidia card, and the rMBP was using it 100% of the time under Windows. There was some not very pretty workaround that disabled the GPU under Windows and that was the only solution to prolong the battery life.
     
  9. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #9
    I would test it first, before saying "yes". Just pointing you in the right direction. I don't have the hardware right now to test it myself.
     

Share This Page