Mac Pro 2.1 vs 4.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mfka, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. mfka macrumors regular

    mfka

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #1
    Hello everyone.

    I have a chance to change my Mac Pro 2.1 (8-core) 3.0 GHz for
    Mac Pro 4.1 quad 2.66 GHz.
    80% of time i use Illustrator and Indesign and 20% Cinema 4D.

    So my question is, should i change my current MP or not?

    Thank You in advance.

    mf
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    You still have pretty decent machine and I think quad core would be downgrade, don't have any statistics so more like a guess. I would wait till new Mac Pro, then sell it and get a new one
     
  3. mfka thread starter macrumors regular

    mfka

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #3
    That sounds reasonable, the problem is that i always get horny
    when i hear “Nehalem”.

    I think i will wait, i just checked geekbench and its not worth it.

    Thanks.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Doesn't "Gulftown" sound even better? ;)
     
  5. mfka thread starter macrumors regular

    mfka

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
  6. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #6
    is it wrong for a girl to feel 'warm n fuzzy' when she see's guys talking about Mac Pro's ...... :S

    (Stick with the MP you have - benefit is not worth replacing for your uses)
     
  7. Etherviz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    #7
    Westmere, more likely, as Gulftown doesn't support multiple processor configurations.
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    Westmere is the name of 32nm architecture which includes Arrandale, Clarkdale and Gulftown. Gulftown is the name of the six-core chip and there are DP versions of it, e.g. Xeon X5680
     
  9. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    :eek: You're awful.... :D :p

    BTW, nice to see you back. :)

    Definitely.

    Depending on budget (assuming it's fairly limited, given the initial consideration of a Quad), the current Nehalem systems should be available at a discount, which will make them more attractive. Grab the fastest Octad possible, and it should serve the OP well (ideally improving as the software advances to be able to utilize Nehalem's architecture). ;)
     
  10. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #10
    Intel naming fun! Westmere EP is the "brand name" for the 5600 Xeons, Gulftown for the Core i7 ones and I've seen both used for the Xeon 3600s. Oh Intel.
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Hmm, yeah, could be. Intel tries to make it hard for us :p I usually talk about Gulftown when talking about the six-core Westmere as it seems logical
     

Share This Page