mac pro 2.6 w/ 23'' or 30'' OR just a 24'' imac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Arip, Apr 15, 2007.

1. Arip macrumors regular

Well. the thing is like this:

i have a macbook pro 2.0 core duo with 2gb ram
    standard 128mb video, 80gigs

cause i live in argentina, i can get like 2.5 k usd

so, the thing is like this

the mac pro, cost almost 4k usd
    and the 30 acd costs another 3.5 usd
    a 23 costs 2k usd

and the 24'' iMac costs almost 4k usd

i know, everything is VERY expensive, and if i get the mac pro w/ 30'' i would become indebted for like 5 years, but i know ill be very happy indeed

i dont do video editing, nor music composing, nor photoshop or any other image retouch, even i love all of this, im a newbie

even thoug i would start doing those like a hobbie

should i buy the most expensive mac, or should i buy a 24'' imac?

the thing i love from the mac pro, is that i can upgrade it later, to up to 16g of ram, and also, the posibility of the upgrade of vga and hd

also, 30'' acd makes me horny :p

what should i do? plz. i need you guys, you ppl that know way too much than me about mac, im just an "inexperience guy", but a mac addict fan

2. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

The question is, is it worth going into debt just to feed a hobby? I don't know but if I were you I would go for the iMac 24" just because it would save you the price of the monitor. Plus it is still a very nice computer.

If you really want the Mac Pro then go for it, I just don't see what use you are going to get out of the power except for a computer that will last for a good 5+ years. Which is one of the reasons that I got one, so it is a valid reason to buy.

3. dartzorichalcos macrumors 65816

dartzorichalcos

Get the Mac Pro because of its upgradability. If you buy a computer that expensive, you might as well buy something that is very upgradable and will last a long time.

4. AVID macrumors member

AVID