Mac Pro 2006 GTX 650 / GTX 680

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by elightbo, Oct 22, 2014.

  1. elightbo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #1
    I'm having some problems running Mavericks and Yosemite on my Mac Pro 1,1. With the evga 650 I won't always see the login screen. This happens about 75% of the time for both Mavericks and Yosemiti. I expect to not see the boot screen, however not seeing a login screen pretty much makes the computer unusable.

    For Yosemite, I used SFOTT (http://oemden.com/?page_id=531) to get it installed. I would like to upgrade to the mac edition gtx 680 (http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-DisplayPort-Graphics-02G-P4-3682-KR/dp/B00C88RHUS), just because having a boot screen would be nice and the used price on eBay is within my reach. I'm also sick of having to reboot the machine constantly. I'm wondering if this card would work with my aging Mac Pro. Any help is appreciated keeping this ancient machine running. Thank you!
     
  2. elightbo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #2
    I posted this question in the Yosemite thread because it seemed like a better place. Sorry for the extra post.
     
  3. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    If you can't memorize the log in procedure then get a flashed 7950/70 as the have boot screens.
     
  4. elightbo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #4
    I've actually logged in using screen sharing from a different computer, and the screen still remains blank after logging in. I did a bunch of searching today to try and solve the problem, but haven't come up with anything yet.

     
  5. elightbo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #5
    It's weird because when using screen sharing, I can see that the graphics card is properly recognized [​IMG]
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    From the screenshot it looks like you don't have the Web Drivers installed

    Try those
     
  7. elightbo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #7
    So far that seems to be the trick, which is embarrassing :) Thanks! I didn't think that the Yosemite drivers were out yet.

     

Share This Page