Mac Pro 2006 - HDMI input PCIe Card - will it work ? (resolved)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by asuranii, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. asuranii macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a Mac Pro 2006 with OSX 10.6.2 and Windows 7 64-bit

    I want to buy this : http://www.avermedia.com/avertv/product/productdetail.aspx?id=499

    Will it work in Windows ? (32 or 64 bit)

    for OSX I already know it will not work...

    .. but there is also the possibility that it will not work inside Windows because of EFI or not a correct firmware of the PCiE card, isn't it ?
     
  2. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #2
    Probably won't work.

    You can get an Elgato device if you want it to work on the mac side
     
  3. asuranii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
  4. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    of course it will work in Windows? a Mac booting windows is basically a PC.
     
  5. asuranii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #5
    So why 99.9% of graphics cards don't work on Mac Pro bootcamp ?

    you have to flash the card with a firmware (and Oops.. the warranty is gone..)
     
  6. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    dude, any PC graphic card will work if you set startup disk to Windows before. We are flashing it to be able to boot OSX.

    Eveything is in my Golden Guide. I wish everyone would read it first if they are going to mention "flashing" and "graphic card" in the same post :)
     
  7. JeromeOD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    #7
    if you want HDMI input on mac or PC side, then a Blackmagic Intensity Pro will do the trick.
     
  8. asuranii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #8
    I bought a RADEON 4870 1GB Sapphire

    Black screen on OSX and Windows Seven 64 bit

    (but unlike XP, windows 7 use the EFI... )

    but maybe it work on Windows XP ?
     
  9. asuranii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #9
    it cost much more (100€ more)

    But yeah, Blackmagic says it will work on OSX :eek:
     
  10. asuranii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #10
    ok, the AverTV CaptureHD H272 work on Mac Pro v1.1 on Windows seven 64-bit

    with some tweaking...

    the sofware doesn't work, but I'm going to use VirtualDub anyway

    To get it work, you have to install the driver on the website

    be careful, the website mix every driver of every card they make, so choose carefully the H727 one.

    Capturing Xbox 360 720 HDMI : OK ;)
     
  11. asuranii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

Share This Page