Mac Pro 2008 Raid 0 (Crucial M4)*2 Feasibility

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AntonWebern, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. AntonWebern macrumors newbie

    AntonWebern

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest USA
    #1
    Can someone tell me if the following set-up is possible?

    Mac Pro 2008 2.8 GHz 8-Core MA970LL/A
    Snow Leopard 10.6.3 Retail DVD
    2 x Crucial M4 512GB SSD (CT512M4SSD2)

    Is it possible to set these 2 SSD's up in RAID 0 as the boot disk, and to do this at the same time that I am installing Snow Leopard from DVD?

    Has anybody done this with substantially the same hardware?

    Do I need to mess around with TRIM or can I just let the drives do their thing?

    Are there any downsides to this setup?

    Will this be lightning fast?

    Thank you.
     
  2. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #2
    Yes it is possible to boot OS X from stripe made on non system without RAID Card, however you cannot install Boot Camp on this array.

    Boot your OS X Installation and make stripe array, make GUID partition(s) on that array and install. About performance, these shots speak for themselfs:

    Single Kingston HX 3K 90GB:
    [​IMG]

    RAID0:
    [​IMG]

    This is tested on Mac Pro 3.1, which as you know has SATA 2 controller.
     
  3. yezza macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
  4. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    It depends. If you'll be using it only for boot and apps, you'll don't notice any difference between 1 and 2 RAIDed SSDs. If you'll be using it for read/write bigger files, speed difference will be significant.
     
  5. mluters macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #5
    Mac OS X 10.7.4 boots from two Intel 520 SSD 240gb in RAID 0 connected via Areca 1882-IX-12 with these results:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    IF you notice the speed differences between the RAID 0 on the ICH (on-board SATA ports) vs. the RAID 0 on the ARC-1882, you'll see quite a bit of a discrepancy.

    This is the result of the ICH itself, which has it's throughput capped (~660MB/s) to keep it from consuming all of the bandwidth that connects the SB to the NB in the 2008 (other things on the interconnect as well, such as USB, Audio, and Ethernet ports).
     
  7. AntonWebern thread starter macrumors newbie

    AntonWebern

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest USA
    #7
    Outstanding. Thank you everyone. I bought one Crucial M4 days before the current M4 firesale, so instead of getting angry, I bought another one.

    I'll be using the machine for Logic Pro work so I'll be reading and writing a lot of large files. I like to work in 24-bit 96khz.
    I'm currently working on a Mac Mini with a single 7200 RPM drive, so I should see some improvement (understatement).

    A snafu with the first machine, but now I have a 2008 3.0 GHz 8-core on the way with 12GB RAM.

    Too bad about Boot Camp, but I'd rather have Mac OS X hauling @$$ than a windows partition.
     
  8. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    Just run a separate disk for Windows if you need it (internal or on a bootable PCIe card if there aren't any more HDD bays available; the ODD_SATA ports won't boot Windows).

    Fortunately, there are inexpensive cards that will boot in a MP (search MR, as it's in here somewhere).
     
  9. mfletcher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    #9
    This is exactly what Ive done. I took advantage off the sale on Crucial M4's to upgrade my Mac Pro.

    1x 256GB M4 SSD - Bootcamp Windows 7
    2x 256GB M4 SSD in RAID 0 - OSX 10.7.4

    Works like a charm. I havent tried to use TRIM enabler on the OSX SSD's however.
     

Share This Page