Mac Pro 2008 upgrade from E5462 2.8 GHz to E5472 3.0 GHz

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    Just got my hands on a cheap pair of SLANR E5472 3.0 GHz's and will replace them today :)

    X5472 3.0 GHz is non-sense, because it takes 120W and these takes only 80W. X5482 3.2 GHz is taking even more - 150W :eek: and X5492 is not supported.
     
  2. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    So...what were the question? :)

    Honestly, I have been eyeing some dirt cheap X5482 (3.2Ghz Harpertown) but I think I may be stashing the cash till they eventually update Final Cut Studio or the Sandy Bridge based Mac Pro.
     
  3. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  4. holyjohn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #4
    Congrats!!

    By the way, what program do you use to look into the voltage consumption? I would like to have it installed on my MP too.. Is it free?
     
  5. cmbarclay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5

    It's iStat.
     
  6. holyjohn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #6
    Thank you, I tried it and it works like a charm :D
     

Share This Page