Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Batty4Mac

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 14, 2014
Canada
— Part One
First time post since a couple of years. I’ve been in/out of Mac news environment particularly in regards to the ability to upgrade or hackintosh your system and looking back to engage in the fun.
I am very happy to see that the Mac community as a whole has continued to survive. ( FYI this could very well be a long read in parts- lol).

Being Apple fan and user for many years I have grown concerned over the lack expansion options in the recent Mac systems Apple has released.

I’ve been a Mac Pro user for many years with my last Pro system purchased in 2009 (yup you are reading correctly- a 2009 MacBook Pro).

It suffered the known issue of swollen battery of which has caused other issues over time. But it was a work horse. And now it’s retired and put aside until I can figure out something to do with it

Its’ replacement is a mid range iMac. Although I am extremely happy with the obvious performance boost. I am disappointed on the limited options for someone interested in a pro model but not looking to fork out over $4-5k if not more.

The question became - What could I do to get a Pro Mac system without Apple costs? Part of me was seriously considering just outright going to Windows (and I just dredge the idea) or get a PC model and hack it. But it had more cons then pros for my liking. Then upon more research I found the answer - The Mac Pro.

The best Mac system or any system by a landslide. I was surprised I forgot about these beauties especially after working on the first models back in 2006-2007.

Needless to say here was an opportunity to get a pro performance and I took it.