Mac Pro 2009 - 2010 upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Threatnique, Jun 6, 2016.

  1. Threatnique macrumors newbie

    Threatnique

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    #1
    hey so after getting my update file it wouldn't work because I had a gtx750 card in , I swapped to the stock one re did the upgrade now I'm on 5,1 :))

    I'm ready to upgrade CPUs !

    My question is after installing CPUs is it ok to put my gtx750 back in ????

    I ask because why when this was in it would not upgrade firmware ? I don't want to put the CPUs in , then the non apple card (gtx750) and it then breaks down and melts into fondue....

    Thanks

    Www.threatnique.com
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    The 750 will work now.

    The firmware updater require a Mac EFI GPU, it's nothing to do with the GPU's model, but only the EFI. Once you finish the update, the EFI requirement not exist anymore.
     
  3. Threatnique thread starter macrumors newbie

    Threatnique

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    #3

    May I ask why it needs the original graphics card ?
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    No idea, may be a kind of protection for the system to confirm that you can update the firmware.
     
  5. pigsyn macrumors member

    pigsyn

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #5
    If your card has no EFI, Mac OS will do a kernel panic in recovery mode or firmware update, because only a restricted set of kexts is loaded.
     

Share This Page