Mac Pro 2009 (4.1) refuse to update at 5.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fred_Mpro, May 6, 2018.

  1. fred_Mpro macrumors newbie

    fred_Mpro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Location:
    Montréal (QC)
    #1
    hi,

    I have a serious problem when I try to update the firmware of my Mac Pro 2009. The tool seems to work, but when I start it does the long beep, but no firmware update. Boot in the OSX directly.

    I have try to remove alors pcie card, all ram and keep only one slot of 1066ECC without any result. The OSX version is 10.7.4 (test boot drive because firmware update with Sierra...)

    No 4.1 firmware update available (B07)...

    I'm far from my first system, but it's the first one that refuses to update.

    Any idea?

    PS. Sorry for my english
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Which GPU?

    How you did it (we need to know the details)?
     
  3. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 65816

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #3
    Do you have an Apple GPU? It's been my experience that the firmware hack won't work without one.
     
  4. fred_Mpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    fred_Mpro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Location:
    Montréal (QC)
    #4
    Hi,

    Yes is the original ATI 2600, Maybe I can try with the GT120? Because the 2600 card is not a 5.1 GPU?

    Thanks for this tips.
     
  5. fred_Mpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    fred_Mpro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Location:
    Montréal (QC)
    #5
    Hi,

    test with GT120 : No more results.. wtf..
    --- Post Merged, May 8, 2018 ---
    I will try with another OSX version like 10.9.5. First time I have this problem.
    --- Post Merged, May 8, 2018 ---
    Ok so,

    test with 10.7.4
    - Test with ATI 2600 Pro (OEM)
    - Test with GT120 (OEM)
    - Test with PC3-8500E
    - Test with PC3-10600E
    - Remove all PCIe Card

    How I do it?
    1 - Open the 5.1 firmware update DMG
    2 - Open the firmware update tools
    3 - Launch the firmware tools, when is finish : Shutdown with the Apple - Shutdown menu
    4 - Start the computer and keep press the button. When the LED flashing release the button.
    5 - Computer do a long bip (firmware)
    6 - Computer just restart in OSX...

    I have not done this manipulation for some time, but I do not think I have forgotten a step..

    Same problem with 10.9.5... I have redownload tools and updateEFI without succes.

    Motherboard issu? Should I forget the processor installation on this one?
     
  6. pdafan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #6
    Are you saying your current firmware is B07?
    Or is it B04?

    Ref this link, http://forum.netkas.org/index.php?topic=852.975
    Update: Bingo! Thanks for the original post "thecadman" that was it. I was still on B04, used https://support.apple.com/kb/DL989?locale=en_US to go from B04 to B07 firmware, after updating to B07 I was able to go to 5.1, add another to the list. Much thanks to the guy(s) that wrote this patch as well.
     
  7. fred_Mpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    fred_Mpro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Location:
    Montréal (QC)
    #7
    The current firmware on the machine is B07 version.
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    Put the Apple firmware updater on desktop. Not just mount the image (but the file itself still at "download" folder.
     
  9. fred_Mpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    fred_Mpro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Location:
    Montréal (QC)
    #9
    Thanks, I will try right now.
    --- Post Merged, May 9, 2018 ---
    No, I put the update tools and the update file (.pkg) in one folder on the desktop. The tool gives me an error 5570. He does not see it.
    --- Post Merged, May 9, 2018 ---
    Last try :
    - Firmware updater PKG on desktop
    - Firmware updater DMG mount
    - Firmware updater DMG file in downloader folder

    Firmware update tool can finish the ramdisk process. Reboot with start button keep press...flashing...release

    No firmware update.

    Is it possible that the current firmware B07 is corrumpu? There is a way to get back to B04 and then postpone the update?
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Try put both the pkg and dmg file not he desktop (NOT in any folder).

    Also, are you running the OS / flash tool from the original HDD? If not, try another hard drive.

    You need B07 or B08 to upgrade to 5,1. No way to go back to B04 (and should not do that anyway).

    And do NOT release the power button too soon. Hold it a bit longer is fine.
     
  11. fred_Mpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    fred_Mpro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Location:
    Montréal (QC)
    #11
    Yes already try.

    All test is done with new SSD on 10.7.5 / 10.9.5 / 10.11.6

    Ok, I have B07 at now, no update available on Apple Website... Do you have any link for B08 firmware?

    Already try many time with different hold time
     
  12. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #12
    How the SSD connected? Native SATA II port?

    NO, you can't get B08, and should NOT install B08. Stay at B07 no matter you can update or not.
     
  13. fred_Mpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    fred_Mpro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Location:
    Montréal (QC)
    #13
    Yes with the native Internal SATA port.

    And...Firmware update done! ****@#$

    I try with the client's operating system directly. I disabled the SIP. I patched my Update Tools with a patch normally designed to eliminate the 5570 error. The error still present so I downloaded the firmware update to the Apple website. I open them and copy on the desktop.

    Magic! It worked without problems. I have never had so much trouble with a Mac Pro, but I discovered new technique. Update 5.1 confirmed.
     
  14. MacZoltan macrumors newbie

    MacZoltan

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    #14
    So, what you need is a Mavericks OS, the firmware 5.1 from apple, the firmware tool and a graphics card GT120 or later.
    Then you boot into the OS, have internet connection of course, start the firmware downloaded which will start a ramdisk, start the firmware tool, follow the instructions.
    Turn off the unit and hold the power button till the led flashes.
    Update runs, all done.
    If this does not work, download 4.1 firmware from apple the latest. Then you boot into the OS, have internet connection of course, start the firmware downloaded which will start a ramdisk, open that and run the file.
    When it is done do the same procedure described first.
    Done!
     

Share This Page