Mac Pro 2009 & Radeon 5870 problems

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ares1849, Jan 12, 2016.

  1. ares1849 macrumors newbie

    ares1849

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #1
    Hi all, after a few years using a 2009 Mac Pro with a PC GeForce GTX 760 card I had too many problems (black screens after software updates breaking Nvidea web drivers, El Capitan breaking Bootchamp etc...) I finally gave up on PC Cards and bought a used Apple branded Radeon 5870.

    Two problems now:

    If the Mac Pro falls asleep while running OS X it no longer sends a signal to my monitor (using a Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort connection). The only way to get video back is to unplug the cable and switch to another port or restart the computer). Video card operates fine otherwise pushing a 2560 x 1080 resolution. I remember having the same problem with a Dell display and the solution was to change a power setting on the monitor and switched to DVI (neither are an option now).

    While running Windows 7 or 10 the graphics card has problems keeping a stable resolution with the display. It wil occasionally push the full resolution, but eventually reverts to a super low one. I've tried doing a clean install of both operating systems and the problem persists. Using the AMD site or Windows software update fails to find any drivers for my card. I installed Apple's Bootcamp drivers and the problem still exists.

    Any ideas for either of these problems? Anyone have current drivers for a 5870 that work with Windows 10? Thanks in advance! :)
     
  2. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #2
    Windows 10 supplies the correct drivers for the 5870 and they work fine on mine on a Mac Pro 2,1.
     
  3. 1madman1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, BC, Canada
    #3
    You have the exact same two issues I used to have with my GTX 680 Mac Edition. I think it may have been a poor contact issue with the Displayport connection in my case as I did not have the problem on DVI.
     

Share This Page