Mac Pro 2009 won't boot, no chime.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mikepianoman, May 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Mikepianoman macrumors newbie

    Mikepianoman

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    #1
    A couple years ago my 2009 mac pro was flashed from 4,1 to 5,1 and I upgraded to a 12 core 2.66GHz. As time has gone by I've slowly needed more power updating the GPU and then yesterday upgraded to a 12 core 3.46GHz. But after that upgrade the computer won't boot. The fans spin and the front light comes on but no chime or information put on my monitor. Anyone know what to do?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Are you use lidded CPU?

    Did you upgrade the CPU one by one? You should check is CPU A work properly before install CPU B.

    Anyway, hopefully you didn't damage the socket.
     
  3. Mikepianoman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mikepianoman

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    #3
    They're lidded CPU's but I have 2 washers elevating the heatsink not to crush the motherboard. I did the same thing with the previous upgrade with no issue. There aren't any red lights or white lights flashing so it seems everything should be working. I'm hoping I didn't damage the board and theres another fix. Does resetting the PRAM and/or SMC undo the 5,1 flash?
     
  4. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #4
    Nuking the PRAM will not undo the 5,1 flash. I've reset my pram many times, and I use a hex processor which wouldn't work without it.
    --- Post Merged, May 23, 2017 ---
    I would suggest redoing the CPU's and putting in just CPU A, making sure it works, then add CPU B. Even with the washers it can be tricky to get them properly tightened down -- took me a couple of tries before i had them properly tensioned.
     
  5. carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #5
    The rivet of the Northbridge is still showing? Could be one snapped.

    Take off CPU B and try to get startup sound with CPU A only, that makes things a lot easier too.
     
  6. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #6
    Watch this he had the same issues it might help good luck
     

Share This Page