Mac Pro 2010 1066/1333 RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    There are no 8GB 1333 MHz chips so the limit is 32 GB with such modules.
     
  2. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #2
    That is SO wrong of Apple to do that. The bus should be 1333MHz no matter what processor configuration. Pretty shady if you ask me.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    That's the RAM Apple includes, there is a great chance that aftermarket 1333MHz RAM will work.
     
  4. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #4
    You can buy 8GB 1333MHz modules that will work in the Mac Pro. I'm sure 3rd parties will start selling ones specifically for the Mac Pro them around the time shipping starts.

    The memory speeds that different processors can use is Intel's decision, nothing to do with Apple.

    I wouldn't expect 1333MHz speeds to work when you install that 4th DIMM on a processor either as that is how it works as part of Intel's spec. Not that it can't be changed, and as Apple like things clean maybe it'll all run at that speed still if all slots are full.
     
  5. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    I also read it will have only 3 PCI-EX slots, but then I found the same was written for Mac Pro 2009 which has 4 slots :)

    Overall:

    - the same case
    - no BluRay
    - no Lightpeak
    - the same DVD burner (same speed)
    - same motherboard with different EFI
    - same cooling
    - same PSU
    - no 2,5" bays (SSD will be probably 3,5")
    - no Firewire 1600
    - no USB 3.0
    - crappy glossy LED 27" display

    I think non of the professional users (like music producers) will buy a monitor like this. I still love my ACD 23" :)
     
  6. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Yeah they don't include the slot that is occupied by the graphics card you get with it :confused:
     
  7. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #7
    Seriously, if you thought there was a chance you'd get Lightpeak... well that's just funny.

    And tell me what about the glossy display causes problems for music production?
     
  8. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #8
    Didn't you hear? Glossy displays make you gain weight and reduce sexual performance.
     
  9. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #9
    Agreed on both accounts. I do music production and personally can't wait for the 27" display.
     
  10. Freis968 macrumors 6502a

    Freis968

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Winter Park, Florida
    #10
    Same here.
     
  11. Ravich macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    I'd feel the same way if I could afford to spend 1000$ on a display



    Anyway, I am wondering... what is this thread about? Like, I'm not clear on what is being established.
     
  12. Jaxdialation macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #12
    Really? It takes all my good manners to address your question instead of you.

    The discussion is about memory - speeds, availability, how to populate the slots.

    And of course like 90% of the threads in the MacPro area, there is the obligatory bitching about Apple's choices in technology.

     
  13. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #13
    Case is still nice looking though a black Apple logo would be cool
    no chance of BluRay (for this refresh, though authoring would be cool)
    Lightpeak will probably come next refresh (or the one after)
    DVD burner is decent enough
    Why would there be a different MoBo for die shrink?
    Same TDP, same cooling
    A PSU that could run 2 5970s would be awesome
    why would you want 2.5" bays?
    Lightpeak will make FW1600 worthless
    USB 3.0 isn't in chipsets
    ACD 27" seems awesome
     
  14. Ravich macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    Obviously this is about memory. I am confused because first post makes some comment about Mac Pros, and the next post says "that's just the RAM that Apple includes."

    And I wasnt complaining. Put your temper on a damn leash.
     
  15. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #15
    I think the 3.33 for instance comes with stock 3GB ram. So I will order that and get 4 x 4GB from either transintl for around $568 or OWC for a bit more. I think trans should have this near the release date or so they say. That way I still have 2 more slots to expand to 24 later if needed. I'll just sell the stock ram for cheap afterward. Considering Apple is currently charging $1,665 for a 16 GB upgrade to the 2009 base model also with 3GB stock, this sounds like a good $1000 savings to me right off the top.
     
  16. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #16
    The quad Mac Pro only has 4 memory slots.
     
  17. RubbishBBspeed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #17
    This is why I'm hoping / trusting in Apple that the update is a short-term measure and that there will be more coming in say six to nine months.
     
  18. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #18
    I'm going for the single 3.33 hex which I think has 6 slots.
     
  19. keewe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #19
    wouldnt count on that. why do you think so? apple is going with 4 slots in single CPU systems. i mean... it would be great because i'm gonna order the hexacore on monday too but i dont think its gonna happen:/
     
  20. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #20
  21. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #21
    Now where did you get that information? Hahaha
     

Share This Page