Mac Pro 2010 Graphics Cards.so confused!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Yurtal, May 13, 2015.

  1. Yurtal macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #1
    Hello, I was hoping to ask a question regarding my 2010 Mac Pro. Its currently got an ATI Radeon HD 5770 with 1x DVI and 2 x MDP. I want to connect 3 monitors but it turns out I'll need to buy 2x mini displayport to dual-link dvi adapters which retail at $149.00 Australian dollars each.
    So my question is, is it possible to buy a second graphics card instead of the two expensive adapters and attach my third monitor to that? And this leads me to my final question, what graphics cards do I have to choose from? I can't seem to find anything here in Australia that isn't from an international ebay seller and at the same time, I have no idea what I'm looking for.
    I hope to spend less than $300 to hook up my third monitor.

    My 3 monitors are Apple Cinema Displays 20" 1680 x 1050 (Aluminium)

    I really appreciate the help with this. I'm lost!
     
  2. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #2
    You're mistaken about the adapters; 20" ACD only require a single DVI connection (it was the 30" ones that needed dual-link). You can buy DVI to mini-DP adapters for less than US$10 on monoprice; I'm sure there are cheap AUS options available as well. http://www.monoprice.com/Search/Index?keyword=dvi+to+mini+displayport

    Getting two of those adapters would allow you to use all three screens using the same graphics card, no additional one required. You could put that money into a better graphics card, but you'd still need the adapters; everything's going mDP or DP these days.
     
  3. Yurtal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #3
    Thanks so much for your reply and help.

    I have currently two monitors plugged into the two mDP's (DVI to mDP adaptors) and the third one plugged into the DVI. Only two screens work at any one time. Am I missing something. So sorry if I'm over looking it.

    Again, thanks for your help!
     
  4. Pieterr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
  5. Yurtal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #5
    Gotta! Thanks heaps. I'm assuming I'll need two active adapters? Or could I get away with one el cheapo, one active and the third straight DVI?
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
  7. Yurtal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #7
    I managed to find a ATI Radeon X1900XT 512MB Mac Pro Video Card for $40. Can I have both the X1900XT and the HD 5770 installed at the same time?
     
  8. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #8
    Not without supplemental power—the X1900XT requires a 6-pin power connection, if I recall correctly. There are dual DVI cards that don't require additional power.
     
  9. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #9
    That card was BTO in 2006 1,1 32-bit EFI - not supported in your system or OS X you are running.
     
  10. Yurtal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #10
    Ah bugger, good thing I haven't paid for it then. Thanks for the heads up!
     
  11. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #11
    GT120 would
     
  12. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #12
    As would the 2600 XT. I dunno what the prices are for these cards at the moment.
     
  13. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #13
    And weren't those cards plagued with problems? poorly supported in Yosemite, if at all, and of course have mere 256MB VRAM
     
  14. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #14
    If both 5770 and 1900 use only 1 power plug, it could in theory work.

    But 1900 has no drivers after 10.7.5. It will run 1 display after that but poorly due to no driver.

    And it sounds like a vacuum cleaner at startup. And they all die from heat.

    And they require 2 slots.

    You would be better off with the adapter we mentioned earlier, or a GT120 or 2600XT. If you are running newer OS you could even use a GT640 or GTX750Ti for some CUDA power.

    Another issue is that X1900 doesn't have a BIOS onboard, just EFI. So it won't work in Bootcamp at all on a 3,1 or later.
     
  15. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #15
    The 2600 we've got in our 3,1 at work on 10.10.3 hasn't seen any major issues. I have no experience with the cards in large deployments, however.

    If he just needs to drive two 20" displays then the VRAM isn't a real concern. He should be looking at whatever fits the bill and is the cheapest, really.
     
  16. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #16
    You need one passive adapter and one active adapter. This is less than $80 together at Monoprice.

    I think any used video card that costs significantly less than $80 will probably not be as good of a solution.
     
  17. lewnworxx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    #17
    Stock apple GT120's are single DV and mini display port connector wise.
     

Share This Page