Mac Pro 2010 Quad Ram advice

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by costabunny, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #1
    Well I am close to getting the Quad (2.8) 2010 model.

    I think I will get the base model (3GB) and add a 2x4GB Crucial kit.

    My question is this - is there any hit for keeping 2 x 1GB and putting the 2x4GB in (10GB Total)?

    My uses are VM (XP for Corel Draw only) and CS5 in the mac side. I also need to do a lot of handbrake to convert my divx encodes to a more mac friendly format.

    I may also bootcamp it for a bit of gaming but not too often.

    Any advice here would be good chaps and chapessess.....

    edit: My other option is to go for the 12GB (4GB x3) kit from crucial - any performance diff over the 2x4GB + 2x1GB ?
     
  2. highdefw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #2
    I know After Effects would benefit greatly from 12gb of ram. I've heard that AE works well if there are at least 3gb ram for EACH core.
     
  3. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    Isn't 2 x 1GB and 2 x 2GB going to be 6GB (not 10)?

    At any rate, no, it shouldn't be a problem... you will get 3GB per channel with two channel interleaving which will work just fine.
     
  4. costabunny thread starter macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #4
    Ooops - meant 2x4GB kit (damnit I am tired...)
     

Share This Page