Mac Pro 2010 single to dual CPU upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nebc100, Sep 28, 2012.

  1. nebc100 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    #1
    Hello All,

    I am new here so please forgive me if this question has already been asked.

    I have just been given (yes, I was lucky) a 2.8Ghz Quad-Core single CPU machine.

    I have acquired a dual CPU board, and this evening I tried switching the one CPU that I have over in to the new CPU board.

    Sadly, it doesn't seem to work. The machine won't post, and the fans simply run a full speed.

    Can some-one advise me...

    1. will a dual board run with only one CPU in it?
    2. will a CPU from a base mac pro (SP) work in a DP board?
    3. I have ordered an X5650 CPU (single CPU) Will I be able to use it on its own in the dual CPU board (I hope to buy a second such CPU when I can find one for a good price).

    Thanks for your help.

    Best regards.

    Nicholas Cross
     
  2. PowerPCMacMan macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #2
    Hi,

    The answer is no. The Dual board is going to require two QPI in order to work. The dual boards require two cpus for it to work, and if you tried the w series w3560? 2.8 Nehalem? - NO W series based CPU will work in a dual QPI board. You will have to get two X or E series chips for it to work.

    Hope this helps.


     
  3. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
  4. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #5
    May I ask where you got the board and how much you paid? I also consider turning my Single-CPU into a dual one. Thanks.
     
  5. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Yes all dual CPU boards work with only one CPU.

    No. You need a Xeon 5500 or 5600 series CPU and those from SP Mac Pros are 3500 or 3600 series. It does however work the other way around.

    Yes. You will only be able to use half the memory slots until you have two processors.
     
  6. maximage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #7
    I have just been through this exact process myself, but with X5680 (3.33GHz) chips. Didn't try the original chip in there, so can't speak for it not posting, but with a single X5680 in there it booted fine, however, the fans did run flat tack. Once the second chip arrived from a different seller (first eBay seller tried to rip me off, thank goodness PayPal were behind me) and I installed that, the fans instantly went back to normal, however, everything else worked normally with just one processor, but needs to be the X version.
     
  7. nebc100 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    #8
    Thanks for that comment!! I have an X5650 (the X5680s are too expensive for me!!) on order, and I was hoping to be able to run it with one CPU for the moment, and then get a second CPU when the prices come down a little.

    I was concerned, however, that the board would only run with two CPUs.

    Is there any way to get the fans to run at their normal speed without the second CPU? It will be really annoying to have the funs running at full speed all the time.

    ----------

    I got my board from the UK, from a company called macsmartonline.

    I have to admit that the board is very expensive, because you need to buy the board AND the two heat-sinks. I wouldn't have bothered doing it normally, but I traded in an old Mac Pro (2006 model) plus an old MacBook Pro (pre unibody, C2D 2.4GHz) for the board plus the two heat-sinks.

    I know that they got a good deal, but I think that I didn't do too badly either because there in Luxembourg people don't want to buy used IT equipment, and I had no use for those two machines.
     
  8. borgo1971 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    #9
    I'm wondering if my MacPro 4,1 born with one Xeon W3520 (4 core @2,66/2,93GHz) can work well with one Xeon X5650 (6 core @2,66/3,06GHz), while I can get one for little money.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #10
    ^^^^See my response in another thread where you posted.

    Lou
     
  10. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #11
    Ebay has the trays starting at 550 buy it now without the proccessors
     

Share This Page