MP 6,1 Mac Pro 2013 (6,1) and Iiyama 5K Monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vddobrev, Jan 20, 2018.

  1. vddobrev macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Haskovo, Bulgaria
    #1
    Has anyone seen/tried the 5K monitor Iiyama ProLite XB2779QQS-S1 with Mac Pro 2013 (6,1), specifically the 4-core version with D300? I am wondering if it will work at all.
     
  2. mattspace macrumors 65816

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    interesting, at one stage Phillips had a Europe-only 5K display, that used the same panel as Dell & HP. 2 DP and 3 HDMI in, looks like a good option - I skimmed the manual, couldn't tell if it's a dual cable for 5K.
     
  3. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #3
    It's a DP 1.4 display, so they might've skipped the dual-cable DP 1.2 support. Wouldn't buy it until someone confirms support.
     
  4. vddobrev thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Haskovo, Bulgaria
  5. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Most likely because it's too new.

    Anyway, thanks for the sharing. I wonder if this will be a good 5K monitor for any cMP owner that has DP1.4 GPU.
     
  6. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #6
    Just curious, has DP 1.4 support in macOS already been verified/tested? I mean, Apple doesn't sell a single Mac with DP 1.3/1.4 outputs, so there's no need to support it...
     
  7. Dr. Stealth macrumors 6502a

    Dr. Stealth

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal-Surf City USA
    #7
    From their web site.....

    "Apple - Mac All iiyama monitors are compatible with Apple-Macintosh computers."
     
  8. MarkJames68 macrumors 6502

    MarkJames68

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #8
    Hardly a qualified statement unfortunately unless they provided resolution and other details.
     
  9. h9826790, Jan 20, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2018

    h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    I personally believe the LG 5K monitor is actually communicated via DP1.4 which embedded into Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C). Therefore, those new Mac can connect it at 5K Hz, but older Thunderbolt 2 Mac can only connect it at 4K 60Hz.

    Even though there is no prove, but I believe the chance is there.

    CORRECTION: There is NO DP1.4 support in TB3. TB3 still using DP1.2 standard.

    --- Post Merged, Jan 20, 2018 ---
    I notice this statement as well, but it means almost nothing. Any Mac can connect to it and display something (even as worst as 640x480) can fit into that statement. Compatible can means "backward compatibility", not necessary means "fully functioning" as expected.
     
  10. Dr. Stealth macrumors 6502a

    Dr. Stealth

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal-Surf City USA
    #10

    Agree. I had the Dell 5k which was supposed to work but it was far from plug and go.... I returned it for a nice Dell 4k and I'm much happier with it...
     
  11. vddobrev thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Haskovo, Bulgaria
    #11
    In general are Iiyama monitors considered good? I have only used Dell monitors...
     
  12. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #12
    From my knowledge TB3 doesn't support DP1.3/1.4, they're sending two DP1.2 streams over a single cable to enable 5K.
     
  13. h9826790, Jan 22, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2018

    h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    You are right, I was wrong about that, thanks for cornering me.
     
  14. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #14
  15. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #15
  16. mattspace macrumors 65816

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    thing that confuses me - USB3/C has DP 1.3 or 1.4 available within it, and TB3 has USB3 within it, but it doesn't carry USB3's higher spec DP signal?
     
  17. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #17
    Thunderbolt 3 uses a USB-C connector, but it does not use a USB-C controller so it does not support USB-C's Alternate Mode (which supports DP1.3) and therefore is limited to the DP1.2 support of the TB3 specification.
     
  18. mattspace macrumors 65816

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #18
    ahh right, so DP 1.3 is granted to USB by the type-c port. USB over type-c is different to USB over a TB3 type-c connector. *facepalm*

    seems disingenuous for TB3 on type-C to be called a superset for type-C if it doesn't offer everything USB offers when using the same port.
     
  19. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #19
    That's the beauty of USB-C: One physical connector for a variety of protocols which are incompatible to each other. The only thing you can rely on when you see an USB-C connector is basic USB 2.0 support, everything else is optional.
     
  20. mattspace macrumors 65816

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #20

    "Courage".
     
  21. vddobrev thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Haskovo, Bulgaria
    #21
    Reviving this thread to check if anyone has tried the Iiama 5K monitor. It is listed at Amazon UK at £768, how good can it be for this price?
     
  22. Squuiid, Feb 2, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2018

    Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #22
    DisplayPort 1.4. This is what we have all been waiting for.
    Shame its supposedly only an 8-bit panel however.

    This should work out of the box with any cMP with an RX/Vega or 10xx series card.


    DISPLAY CHARACTERISTICS
    Diagonal 27"; 68.3cm
    Aspect ratio 16 : 9
    Panel IPS LED
    Native resolution DisplayPort (v.1.4): 5120 x 2880 @60Hz (14.7 megapixel)
    Brightness 440 cd/m² typical
    Static contrast 1 200 : 1 typical
    Advanced contrast 80 000 000 : 1 ACR
    Response time 4ms
    Viewing zone horizontal/vertical: 178°/ 178°; right/left: 89°/ 89°; up/down: 89°/ 89°
    Display colour 16.7 million
    Blue Light Reducer yes
    Flicker Free Led yes
    Display area h x w 334.8 x 595.2 mm; 13.2" x 23.4"
    Pixel pitch h x v 0.116 x 0.116 mm
    Resolutions DisplayPort (v.1.4): max.5120 x 2880 @60Hz, HDMI: max.3840x2160 @60Hz
    Horizontal sync 30 - 180kHz
    Vertical sync 55 - 75Hz
    PIP (Picture in Picture) PiP, PbP

    https://iiyama.com/gl_en/products/prolite-xb2779qqs-s1/

    https://www.reddit.com/r/hardware/comments/7qw2re/iiyama_prolite_xb2779qqss1_the_first_5k_monitor/
     
  23. vddobrev thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Haskovo, Bulgaria
    #23
    But I would wait for at least one review before jumping on it... In general, I like the looks of the monitor with the all glass front, but how good is it?
     
  24. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #24
    Spec says 3 HDMI and 2 DP. Picture tells another story...

    INTERFACES / CONNECTORS / CONTROLLERS
    Digital input connector 3x HDMI, 2x DisplayPort
    HDCP yes
    Headphone connector yes
    Output connector headphone socket

    XB2779QS(S)(80).jpg
     
  25. vddobrev thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    Haskovo, Bulgaria
    #25
    A VGA and a dual link DVI? What the...
    Edit: this monitor may very well be still in design mode, you seen a release info on it?
     

Share This Page

29 January 20, 2018