Mac Pro 2013 - Has Apple separated the Dual GPU card function?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by loby, Sep 24, 2017.

  1. loby macrumors 6502a

    loby

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #1
    I have noticed lately that the second Dual Graphics card is not showing up on my 6-Core Mac Pro 2013.

    I have forgotten if this has always been the case or has it changed with macOS Sierra? Did both cards show up in earlier OS's?

    I have questioned the performance lately on the dual GPU...if it is still duplexing, switching or combining when the GPU load get high during video production. I did not have one of the faulty GPU's, but notice on occasion a flicker on my thunderbolt monitor (maybe when the "Automatic Graphics Switching" kicks in if it still does it).

    Ever since Apple admitted the issues with the Mac Pro 2013 GPU heating problems back in April 2017, I have questioned if they made some driver or software changes in how the cards perform after?

    I remember Craig stated that they realized also that a single strong GPU is better than two combined (summary). I hope that Apple has not separated the dual GPUs functioning now since they still sell the Mac Pro 2013 - one for the monitors and one for processing due to all of the issues with the unit. I don't need a dedicated 3 GB JUST for the monitor and bought the trash can just for the dual cards...

    I hope that is not the case....10 months before I paid $1,300 more for my 6-Core Mac Pro 2013 (working in another country) and then they lowered the price $1,000...puts more salt in the wounds...

    Now the Mac Pro 2013 acts like an overpriced iMac without the monitor if they stopped the dual functioning GPU cards...

    Appreciate any thoughts if you have a Mac Pro 2013. Thanks!


    01.png
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    It looks like only one card is listed as far back as 10.9 (taken from a random Google search, not my own machine).

    [​IMG]
     
  3. loby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    loby

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for the quick answer, that answers one of my pondering questions. Hope someone else has noticed any difference in performance lately...
     
  4. William_si macrumors regular

    William_si

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Location:
    Croatia
    #4
    The cards are now low clocked compared to retail 7970s but no idea if Apple did this from start already.
     
  5. loby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    loby

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #5
    I noticed that the system also runs a little cooler to my surprise, especially with just regular tasks and not high demand stuff (like video processing). Maybe firmware update during High Sierra helped improved or stopped dual GPU actions...?

    Cannot tell yet. I wonder if there is a utility software that can be run to check the dual GPU functionality.

    Not sure if it is improvement or just under clocking the GPUs or CPU? Will test out when doing major video project.

    Hope it is improvements!
     
  6. mp2017 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #6
    Maybe I'm missing something but what is the concern you have about the dual GPU configuration?
     
  7. loby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    loby

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #7
    I was wondering If Apple may have reduced the duo card functionality after they realized that dual cards are not the way to go due to issues, including over-heating. I remember Craig said in the interview back in March about admitting the Mac Pro 2013 issues-limitations and that a strong single GPU was preferred (summary). Since Apple still sells the Mac Pro 2013, has anyone noticed any changes in performance with OS or firmware updates?

    I have noticed that something seems to be different with performance, but cannot exactly point to it. Maybe under-clocking to reduce heat? Not sure. Or that it is performing better. I am in between projects, so I have not tested on a major video project yet. I am wondering if anyone has noticed anything (better or worse) especially using High Sierra.
     
  8. HDFan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #8
    Doesn't show on the splash page

    Screen Shot 2017-10-01 at 18.35.11.png

    but does show in the detail:

    Screen Shot 2017-10-01 at 18.34.54.png
     
  9. mp2017 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #9
    Unfortunately I cannot say one way or the other as I just got mine last Wednesday. However I would say it's unlikely Apple reduced performance in some way. It's possible but I think unlikely.
     
  10. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #10
    macOS hasn't been able to use both GPUs at once for graphics at once since the 2013 Mac Pro came out, so you aren't missing anything you had before.

    It's always been one card for graphics, one card for compute since the beginning, which is how it still works now.
     
  11. lomahs macrumors newbie

    lomahs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    #11
    Some screenshots of the iStat Menus window:
    (1) MacPro three monitors nearly idle: one GPU active and "no workload", CPU 98% idle (2,8GHz 10-Core Xeon E5)
    (2) MacPro three monitors Cinema 4D v19 ProRender (GPU): one GPU nearly 100% GPU processor activity, low CPU
    (3) MacPro three monitors DaVinci Resolve v14 (Metal): moderate activity of both GPUs, CPU 32% active

    (1)desktop.png (2)prorender.png (3)davinci14.png
     
  12. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    #12
    Of course they did this, they were burning and failing like hot cakes
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    Not entirely true. MacOS just cannot use multiple GPU on single monitor's graphics (e.g. Crossfire), but it can use two GPU to drive two monitors graphics. I tested it myself. I can run Unigine Valley on one screen, and Unigine Heaven on another screen, and they powered by different GPU (as per the screen capture below).

    This function just not available on the 2013 Mac Pro's dual GPU, but actually available in MacOS. In fact, 2013 Mac Pro may able to use multi GPU on graphics (with multiple monitor) via eGPU.

    Valley + Heaven.jpg
     
  14. loby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    loby

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #14
    I am sure if DaVinci Resolve is able to use both GPUs at the same time, than FCPX should be like-wise. I read that the newer version of DaVinci Resolve handles the dual cards pretty well.
     
  15. h9826790, Oct 5, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2017

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #15
    That's compute, not graphics. MacOS always able to use multiple GPU to compute as long as the software written correctly. AFAIK, the only real limitation is lack of Crossfire / SLI equivalent ability.
     
  16. loby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    loby

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #16
    Humm....so...is Final Cut Pro X’s coding written correctly to take advantage of MacOS’s ability to use multiple GPU’s in the Mac Pro 2013? Or has that really been the problem (or complaint) with the trash can...yes over heating, but maybe issues making the two GPU’s function correctly...?

    A side thought and maybe really my question all along...
    --- Post Merged, Oct 5, 2017 ---
    Given that the hardware by default (drivers etc. included) works as suppose to before any applications are used...
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    FCPX definitely can utilise two (or more) GPU.
     

Share This Page