Mac Pro 2013 - No Audio Line In?!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Vic-Viper, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. Vic-Viper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    #1
    I've checked every corner of the net, but it seems the new Mac Pro doesn't have an audio line in option. My MacBook has a hybrid port, but this doesn't seem to.

    What are my alternatives? I need audio in.
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    I'm afraid your need some sort of Thunderbolt adaptor or dock like this one
     
  3. borad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #3
    Or if you insist on saving lots of money, a USB adaptor ;)
     
  4. petsounds macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #4
    I assume Apple figured professionals who needed audio capture would be using an external audio interface of some type for high-quality input.
     
  5. macines macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    #5
    i think the headphone intput jack simultaneously serves as an audio microphone input
     
  6. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #6
    That's a headphone output jack, so, not too likely.
     
  7. SeattleMoose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Location:
    Der Wald
    #7
    Tons of audio interfaces/Mics out there.

    Cheap - Griffin iMic/USB $40 (A/D only...you supply Mic or audio in)
    Medium - Apogee MiC/USB $199 (Mic and A/D all in one...just plug it in and start recording)
    and they go up from there....
     
  8. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    Well, the "headphone out" port on my 2011 MBP 13" uses a "headphones" glyph and it's a hybrid port you can set for either line-out or line-in. I guess the only real way to find out is to have someone who owns an nMP check his/her System Preferences to see if it's switchable in the same way.
     
  9. ozbimmer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #9
    Sorry no audio in http://support.apple.com/kb/HT6024
     
  10. Beta Particle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #10
    Apple haven't been including a line-in on their products for years now.
    It's a real problem with their notebooks, as you don't want to be carrying around an external audio interface.
    Even the old plastic MacBooks used to have a line-in jack, which is something the Retina MacBook Pros are lacking.
     
  11. ytoyoda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #11
    There's microphone input at "Headphone" port. But it is not like stereo line input.

     
  12. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #12
    I don't see an issue really, if you're about quality audio you'll most likely get an Audio interface. Why deal with onboard DAC's when you can get something much better for all sorts of price ranges.
     
  13. riggles macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    #13
    This really bugged me too when I got my 2012 iMac. My 2011 MBP had it then, all-of-a-sudden, gone. I know you can buy A/D converters for not too much money, but we hate loosing functionality. Especially if you only use something occasionally. Then it seems like a frustrating waste to buy yet another (if you're a nMP owner) external attachment just to get something done.
     
  14. jayducharme macrumors 68040

    jayducharme

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    The thick of it
    #15
    The CalDigit calls it a "microphone" input, not a line input. So I'm not sure how well it would function for line input. If what's needed is a simple microphone input, just get a USB mic. There are many on the market and most are decent quality.

    I'm waiting for this beast to become available:

    http://www.sonnettech.com/product/echo15thunderboltdock.html

    There's still no word on when (if ever) it will ship. But it has two separate audio input jacks.
     
  15. CouponPages macrumors regular

    CouponPages

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    #16
    THANK YOU for posting that!

    While I already have USB audio gear, I also have a MacBook Pro 17" Late 2011, which does not have HDMI or USB 3.0. My work-around was a PCI Express card for the USB 3.0, and putting my external monitor on the end of a chain of Thunderbolt drives... which tied up my last port, preventing me from using a bus-powered Seagate GoFlex Thunderbolt adapter.

    Now, I can plug everything into one port, and still have the last Thunderbolt port open whenever I want to swap GoFlex (now called Backup Plus) drives.
     
  16. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #17
    Then how about the Griffen iMic?
     
  17. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #18
    So, what about users that do casual recording and don't need a dedicated external audio interface ? Is there an adapter or something that won't get in the way too much ?
     
  18. nathan43082 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    #19
    There are many A/D converters at just about every price range, some which have optical outputs, some S/PDIF and some even have USB connections (which is what you want). This is the one I use in my home studio (usually just me recording). I recommend it only if you want the highest-possibly audio quality with no compromises. I link it here mostly to show off (we all do that here from time to time, right?).

    http://www.lavryengineering.com/products/pro-audio/ad11.html

    However, if I just needed a basic usb-ready A/D input for use with a standard XLR-connected microphone, I'd probably choose something like this:

    http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/MTrack.html

    If I was using a very cheap microphone, one with a 1/8" mini-plug, I'd probably choose something like this:

    http://store.griffintechnology.com/catalog/product/view/id/623/s/imic/category/62/
     
  19. CH12671 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Location:
    Southern US
    #20
    I use the iMic on my 2012 13 inch MacBook pro with great results. We run line level out of a mixer into the iMic and use it for broadcasting. IMic has selectable line our Mic level input. Fwiw, my 2012 MacBook's headphone jack is not an input. But the 15 inch MacBook had a separate input...
     
  20. Vic-Viper thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

Share This Page